Chandan Reviews Mtnl 3G In Delhi Circle

Chandan Reviews Mtnl 3G In Delhi CircleI took a connection on 12-10-09. I was really skeptic about their claim since i have never read a good review of PSU telecom products  well, to my surprise the sim got activated within minutes.

I needed to submit ID/Address proof, PAN card copy and Rs149  and the new 3G SIM (they offered me a choice of numbers!!) was in my hand at that moment and very next it was in my NOKIA E 71.It had free bundled up 25 MB data plus 20 minutes video call to MTNL network.

FIRST EXPERIENCE WITH SPEED:  speed was amazing, though I wanted to check the speed on mobile; i had no idea of any tool where I could check the speed test on mobile itself then i decided to connect it to mobile.

I called up customer care for help, the executive gave me a detail which I could not comprehend and obviously not working. It was an 18 steps detailed description which i first noted down on paper and tried to create a dialer, and never succeed. Finally I took a cue from my past experience with aircel gprs connectivity to laptop.

Tips:THERE IS AN EASY WAY TO CONNECT MTNL SIM TO NET (FOR NOKIA USER ONLY).

Open the pc suite >Go to settings

Select your phone modem, which will appear by default if connected then, there is select network, you will find a lot of network there of all the countries. Mtnl name is also mentioned but it doesn’t work. I wondered first why?? But I found the reason soon.

Chandan -Delhi

Chandan -Delhi

So instead of selecting network, select the below mentioned option , configure the connection manually, on the next page fill the access point box with ‘pps3g’ and leave every other box blank and press the finish button. Now connect and here you connected.

Well, now regarding speed after connecting to laptop I tested the speed on whatismyip.com and found a speed of 392 kbps and upload of 124 kbps. Well, quite good. Since a speed more than 384 kbps DL is considered starting of 3g speed. Some time i found 400 kbps around. The highest I got is 625 kbps. Unfortunately i didn’t took a screenshot of that.

Then I thought is there any way to test the speed on handset itself. After a lot of googling, I found two good website which offer mobile speed test. They are

1) mobilespeedtest.com

2) mobileinternetmeter( just enter the words in google and the website appear at very first no), you just need to click that and you get your speed.

You will be surprised to know that highest speed I got is 1026kbps (I have a screen shot of the same, which i am pasting here) average i got is around 400 kbps which is amazing for a handheld device.

Screenshots :

Screenshot0018Screenshot0019

Screenshot0020Screenshot0022

Video Call

I tried video call also video is smooth voice service is excellent. always keep it in dual mode instead of UMTS, because at times mostly inside the house 3g signal bar is 2-3 only (I found this problem in Kaushambi only, perhaps because of high-rise there). Call rates are quite competitive, as I have heard they are going to lower it again and it is going to be better than simply reliance, except the roaming.

Network Coverage

Coverage is excellent. I tried in most of the east central west (except Rohini/Dwarka and pashchim VIhar), south Delhi and I found everywhere 3g signal with full strength.

Only problem is roaming as i confirmed from mtnl, if you roam out of delhi network, you may be able to use 3g on bsnl and mtnl mumbai network, wherever it is available, but you will not be able to use your free data plan there you will be charged as per the bsnl or mtnl delhi data rate per mb uses. So when it comes to roaming airtel mobile office seems the best option.

Well, if you are hard core Delhiite, go for 3G and you will enjoy it.

If you would like to share a review email us contact@telecomtalk.info

-TelecomTalk take no liability for the views expressed by our readers.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current ye@r *

  • saurav March 16, 2011 8:45 pm

    is mtnl has launched the 21 mbps data card ??
    is it ggod for my area in respect to speed??
    i live in east delhi(shahdara),actually i m planning to buy the 7mbps data card or 21 mbps data card (if available)

  • brijesh November 30, 2010 6:38 am

    @Amit Deb Biswas
    try on speedtest.in for speed test. with mtnl3g i am getting speed 1997 kbps. its amazing its never take steaming time in live videos . its superfast..

  • Minesh Rajput November 3, 2010 11:34 am

    Yaar 3G cheez to badi mast hai, lekin ye MTNL wale sarkari company hone ka saboot dete hai. jab bhi customer cre main call karta hu, na to ye theek se baat karte hain aur na hi inhe kuchh pata hota hai. Maine samsung GT S5603 kharida taki main live tv dekh saku, ek mahina hone wale hai, ye logo mere mobile par live tv dekhne ka software download nahi kar pa rahe hai. Main to Number portability services shuru hone ka wait kar raha hu, uske baad number badle bina, kisi aur company ki sim le lunga. tab tak to sabhi 3g launch kar chuke honge.

  • Arun November 1, 2010 5:02 pm

    @Amit Deb Biswas
    if u using opera mini like browsers it will not show correct speed

  • Amit Deb Biswas November 1, 2010 4:08 pm

    Its fake site mobilespeedtest.Com coz with bsnl 2g i saw my speed is 1600kbps . Lol.. I never get 16kbps..

  • bhupendra October 20, 2010 12:45 pm

    i have everi thing to connect my laptop through nokia e-63 mtnl 3g connection this works in mobile not able to connect till date support is pathetic fools are sitting

  • Anbu John Boban October 9, 2010 7:30 pm

    i get a speed of 1987 kbps in ma mobile via mobilespeedtest.com model x6 :D with bsnl 3g..

  • Saurabh October 9, 2010 4:39 pm

    I have a mtnl 3G sim.. but i see a ’3.5g’ sign on the left corner of the screen instead of capital ’3G’.. What is the prob nd how can it be solved..?
    Internet is working bt speed is nt fast enough.

  • epynic July 1, 2010 10:41 am

    @Himanshu

    not at all, you will feel the real experience with your naite

  • Himanshu July 1, 2010 10:15 am

    Hi Chandan. Its really nice n informative post by you. Now i’m feeling like buying 1 for me. I have LG KU990i Viewty and Sony Ericson Naite. both are 3g enabled phone so I hope there will not be any issue using this on these 2 sets.

  • MaNoJ June 30, 2010 2:15 pm

    A.S.K.R :
    Where can i get new 3G sim in delhi(kalkaji area).

    Go to any retailer shop.

    or you can directly go to CGM office, Lodhi Road.

  • A.S.K.R June 30, 2010 1:47 pm

    Where can i get new 3G sim in delhi(kalkaji area).

  • rajiv June 15, 2010 1:05 pm

    hi chandan,
    it was really nice to see your post it was really very much informative
    i seriously need your help regarding 3g setting for my Sony Erricson X1.
    i used to surf through my Lg arena KM 900 but i recently bought sony X1.

    thanks a million & loads of regards
    Rajiv

  • sanjay February 21, 2010 8:22 pm

    hi there,
    i just purchased a 3G connection from MTNL delhi. i want to know how can i use internet connection on my computer with 3g.
    in the same way, i contacted with mtnl customer care they were unable to gie appropriate information to me.
    kindly tell me how to configure my pc to use internet connection through 3g.

  • shakir alam January 27, 2010 6:27 pm

    @bd parashar
    i can understand ur problem,even i was struggling with nokia PC suite while connecting my Laptop to Nokia phone.always there was some errors like one touch access failed to connect.dont worry forget the old nokia pc suit install new OVI PC suite from nokia website.after installing ovi pc suite ur problem will be sorted out for the internet connection.

  • bd parashar January 17, 2010 1:25 am

    i have tried every thing but not able to connect my laptop XP sp-3 with nokia e63 even done those setting in PC suite plz help error failed to connect

  • Pratik January 8, 2010 4:05 pm

    Speed Result with MTNL 3g Delhi
    Nokia N79 with data cable on laptop

    Prepaid 3G – 200-400 kbps
    Preapid hsdpa – i got 1.7 Mbps

  • Amit December 22, 2009 2:47 pm

    Cheers mate…coz of ur simple page..i could use dis thing on my lappy..those bozos at mtnl customer care were giving me all the wrong settings even wen i told them its all a mess wat u r giving me….

    Many thx

  • vikas December 12, 2009 5:53 am

    hi chandan

    i want to buy 3G micromax mobile with mtnl sim, so can u help me about this.

    is it possible that i can use this micromax mobile set with other company sim like airtel etc.

    i will checkout some nokia sets with download speed upto 10 mbps but mtnl show highest speed 3.6 mbps, is it possible 3G speed increased in future if ok then fine but if not then these type of phone is use less (plz tell me highest seed is possible in 3G network)

    final suggest me best 3G set around 12000 rs present in market, i will do some search about this and find nokia 6700 slide is best but it not launched

    waiting for ur response

    regards

    vikas

  • Rishi November 28, 2009 9:39 pm

    I am using 3G on my samsung Mobile but the speed is not enough. It is arounr 110 kbps. Please suggest.

  • A.O November 26, 2009 3:12 pm

  • A.O November 26, 2009 3:10 pm

    @DIlawar

    speed is fine but when i try to acess video call feature then it says network not supported…

  • DIlawar November 25, 2009 10:54 pm

    Thanx a lot.
    I was able to connect to the internet.
    But I was not able to connect it through OVI suite.
    I had to download PC suite 7.something and the I was able achieve it.
    Thanks a lot.

  • MTNL November 18, 2009 10:43 am

    Mohan Joshi :
    @Rajiv
    Dear Mr. Rajiv,
    Read your comments.I have purchased 3G data card from MTNL before 3 months. Tried connecting it to lap top with different settings. It is not working.I feel my 5000.00 are wasted. Could you please help me with settings.
    Regards
    Mohan Joshi

    Dear Mohan Joshi,
    When you posted the first complaint on this site MTNL Muumbai,It self called up to your Number but you did not co-operate to resolve the Issue.

    -MTNL Mumbai

  • Mohan Joshi November 18, 2009 10:38 am

    @Rajiv
    Dear Mr. Rajiv,
    Read your comments.I have purchased 3G data card from MTNL before 3 months. Tried connecting it to lap top with different settings. It is not working.I feel my 5000.00 are wasted. Could you please help me with settings.

    Regards
    Mohan Joshi

  • Abhishek November 14, 2009 11:44 pm

    Use 3g-gprs-prepaid or hsdpa-gprs-prepaid . . . . .Both will work . . . . . . Though nokia N70 doesnt have hsdpa but this access point will work . .

  • Rajiv November 14, 2009 11:08 pm

    I boughtan MTNL 3G Jadoo Prepaid pack last week.
    MTNL sent me several configuration settings -
    3G-GPRS-Prepaid
    3G-MMS-Prepaid
    HSDPA-GPRS-Prepaid
    HSDPA-MMS-Prepaid
    mtnl_wap_delhi
    mtnl_mms_delhi
    TRUMP GPRS
    TRUMP MMS

    Which of these should I use when connecting to the net thru my mobile (N-70).

  • arun November 9, 2009 1:25 am

    Thanks chandan ur great. i try it fo one month to how to conect 3g to pc i got it even i set operamini stting its working . thanksssssssssssssssssssss. :-)

  • Rajat Gupta November 6, 2009 11:15 pm

    Dear Chandan i m not able to connect my 3g with my laptop. can u plz help

  • Robbin2685 November 5, 2009 10:19 pm

    Hi,

    I don’t think, you can rely on MTNL Delhi Network. The customer Service is just Pathetic. I Think this is a very small word. In terms of customer satisfaction, they are not counted anywhere. Around 25th October, i registered a complaint regarging 3G coverage as i’m not able to send MMS even the 3G Video Calling is not accessible near my home. But There is no update from them. Later i realised that near my home (In Vikas Puri, West Delhi) there is no 3G coverage, it supports EDGE there.I’m also not sure about the 3G usage charges, and even the customer service has no idea about it but i guess, i read somewhere that the usage charges differs on different access points. Any Clues????

  • chandan October 31, 2009 7:36 pm

    Hi Ashish,

    As i had already mentioned, the reception in Rohini, Dwarka, Pashim Vihar area is not good and you may also find difference in the reception quality between inside the house and outside the house. actually 3G (gsm) works on 2100mhz frequency and it requires more base tower than CDMA in which case 3g( mobile broadband or 1x EVDO technology) works on the same 800 mhz on which voice network works and also it doesnt penetrate inside the house as effectively as CDMA wave does.

    I mean to say MTNL needs to expand its 3G tower network, which they are doing gradually. people from MTNL only convey me about the bad reception in ROHINI/DWARKA/PASCHIM VIHAr and he also told me that entire DELHI/NCR will be coverd with full 3G signal in 2-3 months in phased manner. in laymen language for the same area a CDMA network requires 10 base tower then 3G network requires 20 towers and more to gove the same quality of services anf this is the reason 3G netwok facing problem. they have good 2G network but they have not upgraded all the tower to carry 3G signal.

    you can check the data usues bu just checking your normal balance. press *444# . you will get your balance detail on your screen . and simulteneously you will recieve a message in your INBOX with details of your free video call balance as well as DATA balance in KB. IT WILL BE LIKE BELOW;

    ‘Your free Video call duration is 00:00:43 minutes. your free volume is 454176KBytes.’

    sometime it may take 2-3 minutes before you receive message but most of the time you receive the message simultaneously.

    Hope, it solves your problem.

  • Ashish October 31, 2009 4:55 pm

    The results are very bad in rohini and nearby areas. I tried it on mobilespeedtest.com and got really bad results.

    A few hours ago it was 112kpbs and now it just got be 52kpbs.

    MTNL helpdesk has no clue.

    They gave me a number to talk to – 23627494 and ist busy since morning.

    Also they have no clue how to check data usage. All they say is to check it from packet data logs on teh cellphone. I tried to explain them that the data logs show a total log of all dat services i use ( WLAN / PC Interney sharing, direct line and 3G ) but they coudl not understand the issue.

    Any idea how to check data usage in MTNL 3G?

  • AMIT KUMAR SHARMA October 30, 2009 12:06 am

    @Dhirendra
    10000sec= 2hrs 46min 40 sec only. Not enough.

    And what about the Roaming, whether they will be charging per sec in roaming also.

  • Dhirendra October 29, 2009 11:44 pm

    In my above post, every month we get 10,000 std seconds for 1p/s after that charge for std calls is 2p/s .

  • altaf October 29, 2009 11:43 pm

    ^^^
    Forgot to mention there is a condition upto 10,000 secs STD @ 1p/sec and then 2p/sec

  • altaf October 29, 2009 11:42 pm

    AMIT KUMAR SHARMA :
    @Dhirendra
    Hi Dhirendra,
    Please check “Whether Aircel is providing 1 paisa per sec STD to all network without any extra charge or T&C”. As I saw in UPW aircel is providing STD 1p/s to aircel numbers only and 2p/s to other opertars.

    Aircel introduced this per second pulse in mumbai too many options are available to magirate to that plan like do a e-top of Re.1 (thats correct one rupee) or call 123 follow the IVR or sms “SECOND” to 53382(toll free)

  • Dhirendra October 29, 2009 11:38 pm

    AMIT KUMAR SHARMA :
    @Dhirendra
    Hi Dhirendra,
    Please check “Whether Aircel is providing 1 paisa per sec STD to all network without any extra charge or T&C”. As I saw in UPW aircel is providing STD 1p/s to aircel numbers only and 2p/s to other opertars.

    Hi Amit,
    Have a look at the following advertisement published in times of india, delhi edition today
    http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Default/Scripting/ArticleWin.asp?From=Archive&Source=Page&Skin=TOI&BaseHref=CAP/2009/10/29&PageLabel=28&ForceGif=true&EntityId=Ad02705&ViewMode=HTML&GZ=T

    Of course there is a cap on STD uses. For first 10000 STD seconds it is 1p/s after that 2p/s. All local calls are 1 paisa per second without any restriction. Advertisement also says that per second tariff is valid for 1 year. Probably they are thinking about introducing some tariff voucher for 1p/s STD calls.

  • chandan October 29, 2009 11:22 pm

    Hi amit,

    you are right. I , too, activated the pay per second plan on my Aircel number. I dialed a few local and std. For local it was fine as the deduction was as per one paisa per second but for STD it was 2 paise per second. I talked to customer care and they told that its an error from their side but it will be rectified in 12 hours. But, now i realise that you are right. perhaps 1 paisa per second STD is for Aircel only and for other its certainly 2 paise per second. i have already given it a try. But, as the CCE told, lets wait for another day to get it rectified. gud nite .

  • AMIT KUMAR SHARMA October 29, 2009 10:38 pm

    @Dhirendra
    Hi Dhirendra,

    Please check “Whether Aircel is providing 1 paisa per sec STD to all network without any extra charge or T&C”. As I saw in UPW aircel is providing STD 1p/s to aircel numbers only and 2p/s to other opertars.

  • Dhirendra October 29, 2009 10:13 pm

    @chandan
    Right Chandan,
    Aircel today announced pay per second plan in Delhi and I was able to migrate to this plan by dialing 123 and following some instructions on their IVR without any charge.

  • Amit Kumar Sharma October 29, 2009 10:04 pm

    @chandan
    Hi Chandan,
    Sorry for wrong comment. Simply reliance is a very good plan available for old, new, GSM, CDMA ,prepaid and postpaid customers.

  • chandan October 29, 2009 9:55 pm

    Hi amit,

    Validity is ofcourse lifetime. I have purchased the sim and i am using the same. I wanted to say that this facility is available till 07-11-09 . That means if you purchase the sim during this period(08-10-09 to 07-10-09) then, their ad says, you will enjoy these call rates for lifetime. As per todays policy, most of the new prepaid connection( practically all ) comes with life time validity. They had not mentioned in their ad that whether the old customer, customers migrating from 2g to 3g or those customers who purchase the sim after 07-11-09 (of course they too will have liftime validity!!!) Will enjoy the same call rate or not.

    and i disagree with you that all the other service provider following the same strategy and not offering attractive call rates to old customer. Recently there have been price war among different carriers and all the new call rates are available to old customer too.
    e.g. Simply reliance plan is available to old customer on a one time recharge of 48 rs. Vodafone 60 paise per minute call to all network nationwide on delhi network was launched recently and it is available to old as well as new customer for a recharge of 48 rupees for one year validity. And i have been reading all kind of ofeeers in different circle in telecomtalk.info too. All the telecom sevice provider have come with new call rates and i feel by january simply reliance will be standard startup plan being offered by all carriers though airtel has not entered so deeply in the price war.

    so i think you should once give it a try as i feel it should be available to old customer also. And i dont believe the guys from customer care of mtnl. So i will suggest to visit a sanchar haat. They are better equipped with info. And yes, once mnp is here in delhi from 31-12-09 the scene will be entirely different.

  • Amit Kumar Sharma October 29, 2009 9:36 pm

    Hi Chandan,

    Please go though the MTNL site and and see the “Promotional Festival offer on Prepaid 3G Jadoo”

    Condition No. 6 The 3G Jadoo Festival SIM tariff plan will have a validity of Lifetime.

    As there is lifetime commitment from MTNL, they can’t increase your call rates. So you do not have to worry. Last but not the least you will always get fail dealing with MTNL. They shall never be any hidden cost.

    Now think what existing customers will have to pay if they activate 3G.

    Not only MTNL all other operators are following the same strategy. No attractive offers are avaialble for old customers in spite of tough Competetion. Hence MNP is very much required in India.

    How may mobiles/SIMs a person can carry?

  • AMIT KUMAR SHARMA October 29, 2009 9:35 pm

    Hi Chandan,

    Please go though the link.
    http://mtnldelhi.in/3g_081009.htm#1

    Condition No. 6 The 3G Jadoo Festival SIM tariff plan will have a validity of Lifetime.

    As there is lifetime commitment from MTNL, they can’t increase your call rates. So you do not have to worry. Last but not the least you will always get fail dealing with MTNL. They shall never be any hidden cost.

    Now think what existing customers will have to pay if they activate 3G.

    Not only MTNL all other operators are following the same strategy. No attractive offers are avaialble for old customers in spite of tough Competetion. Hence MNP is very much required in India.

    How may mobiles/SIMs a person can carry?

  • Dhirendra October 29, 2009 9:15 pm

    Amit Kumar Sharma :
    @Sanjay Bafna
    You are right Sanjay we can activate 3G. But call rates shall be very high.
    Video call rates 1.80,3.00 and 3.75 and voice call rates 0.60, 1.00 and 1.25 (local own network, local other net and STD respectively).

    You are right Amit. I migrated to 3G from my existing 2G sim and I am paying for this tariff. MTNL is taking its old customers for granted. This is not fair :-(.

  • chandan October 29, 2009 9:02 pm

    Hi Amit,

    i am not sure about the call rate for the numbers migrating from 2G to 3G. but a new number (9013 series) is activated with a call rate as under:

    Video & Voice call : on-net Local (20 paise per minute)
    Video & Voice Call : off-net Local(50 paise per minute)
    Video & Voice call : STD , any network ( 75 paise per minute)

    Plz confirm it from Customer care or sanchar haat, I think there should not be difference in call rate between new and old number. BUT THERE IS A CATCH, RIGHT NOW MTNL IS SELLING NEW CONNECTION WITH THESE CALL RATE CITING IT BEING A FESTIVAL OFFER VALID FROM 8-10-09 TO 07-10-09. they have not mentioned what after 07-10-09. SO AMIT, KINDLY CONFIRM ALL THESE FROM CUSTOMER CARE, BETTER GO TO CP SANCHAR HAAT.
    REGARDS, CHANDAN

  • Amit Kumar Sharma October 29, 2009 8:41 pm

    @Sanjay Bafna
    You are right Sanjay we can activate 3G. But call rates shall be very high.
    Video call rates 1.80,3.00 and 3.75 and voice call rates 0.60, 1.00 and 1.25 (local own network, local other net and STD respectively).

  • Amit Kumar Sharma October 29, 2009 8:29 pm

    @Sanjay Bafna
    I asked the customer care and they told me that there is no facility to provide 3G on existing number and you have to purchase new sim. I shall ask the customer care again.

  • Sanjay Bafna October 29, 2009 8:00 pm

    Amit Kumar Sharma :

    The biggest drawback is that you have to purchase the new number. MTNL has fully avoided their existing 2G customers and they are not offering 3G on your existing 2G number. As everybody wants 3G services but do not want to change his number.

    Its Totally wrong that MTNL not giving 3G service to their Existing customers, MTNL is giving that and any one can activate 3G mobile service on their existing MTNL Mobile Number.

    For Delhi- MTNL Prepaid customer can activate 3G mobile service by SMS ACT3G to 444(Rs.300 will be deducted from the account as activation charges) and Postpaid user can get 3G service on their existing mobile number by request at selected Sanchar Haat (list is available on 1503).

    In Mumbai- MTNL offered 3G Service to all existing customers as well as new customer The Existing MTNL customer (Postpaid and Prepaid both) can activate 3G Service just by ONE SMS.

  • adi October 29, 2009 7:35 pm

    very effective post and comments……. keep it up

  • Amit Kumar Sharma October 29, 2009 7:25 pm

    The biggest drawback is that you have to purchase the new number. MTNL has fully avoided their existing 2G customers and they are not offering 3G on your existing 2G number. As everybody wants 3G services but do not want to change his number.

  • Dhirendra October 29, 2009 4:16 pm

    @anurag
    Sure, Anurag. But I avoid posting my mobile number or email id on the web.
    To contact me, visit the link
    http://groups.google.co.in/group/cryptographyiitd/
    and click on contact the owner. You may send your number from there. I will contact you then by an SMS.

  • anurag October 29, 2009 4:02 pm

    @Navdeep kaur
    hello DHIRENDRA,i m anurag from delhi .today i purchased a 3g connection from sanchar haat .can you help to check my vedio call .if you r interested than please give me your mobile no so i can try how vedio call is works

  • CHANDAN October 29, 2009 3:10 pm

    HI DHIRENDRA,

    you are right. I tried 3GTV and download the application. but when i tried to connect, it will do some kind of processing and at background i could see the colors channel logo and other channels logo. but it would not coneect finally showing an error, ERROR 30006: Try to connect after sometime. and everytime the same message I found.Finally when I contacted customer care, they told that MTNL TV is not available on 3G, I can subscribe on 2G and they send me some new setting , surprisingly, of TRUMP,MUMBAi. well, i wrote a mail to the vendor who provide this servise but they didnt reply. finally, i discarded the idea of MTNL TV as the charges too wwas very high. one big problem with 3G is that, you will have to purchase datacoupon from their SANCHAR HAAT and very few of them have the stck. i purchased it from Laxminagar. regards. CHANDAN

  • Dhirendra October 29, 2009 2:44 pm

    Hi Chandan,
    Settings in my handset are correct. In fact in my earlier post I gave a link which provides all settings and one can update his/her UMTS sim(not GSM SIM) services as well from this site. This is MTNL’s official site for all such settings but their is a bug on this site as well. When you sign in on the site using your mobile number, authentication pin is sent to the mobile and it is right away available on the site to. So their is a possibility of someone misusing it.

    Here is the link for downloading MTNL 3G TV
    http://59.162.166.215/mtnl-tv/pages/main_page.jsp
    By clicking on MTNL 3G TV link on the above site, you can find all the information. You can send an SMS “SUB3GTV” to 53388 and they will send you a link to download the application.
    For me, everything worked fine from downloading the application till subscription of two channels and deduction of money from my account but I was not able to watch anything. So from my experience I will not recommend you to do so.

    - with regards,
    Dhirendra

  • Dhirendra October 29, 2009 2:05 pm

    Hi Navdeep,
    There may be some handset related issues or network issue in my area(IIT DELHI, HAUZ KHAS). But 3G has been a very bad experience for me and now I prefer to keep my SIM in GSM network only.
    Further as you mentioned that “Airtel Mobile is the best when it comes roaming”, I never tried Airtel for accessing data but I have very recently experienced AIRCEL data service while roaming in a small town in UP west (my home town). It was fantastic. I was even able to watch videos on youtube application on my Nokia E51 without any streaming delay and I also used it for browsing on my laptop. The experience was far better than my expectations and Rs. 98/- pm for unlimited uses is the best deal till date.
    Let us see what others have to say!!!

  • CHANDAN October 29, 2009 2:01 pm

    Hello Dhirendra,

    Nice feedback… well,i dont know why it is not working in your case. have you saved the right access point in your mobile. since they send 4-5 kind of acees point setting once you asked them to send setting for 3-G. they sent me MMS setting , Wap setting, 3G-GPRS setting and dont know why TRUMP MUMBAI and some other Mumbai setting. MTNL/BSNL have different setting for different circle and even the setting changes frequently. It doesnt work like AIRTEL-MOBILE OFFICE which work pan-INDIA , irrespective of circles. so, please check your exact setting. it should be:

    3G-GPRS-Prepaid ( the name should be same)

    the detailed setting is:

    Data Bearer: Packet Data
    Access Point name: pps3g
    user name: None
    prompt password; no
    password( let it be default i.e. leave it as it is)
    Authentication : Normal
    Homepage: http://www.google.com

    ADVANCE SETTING(REQUIRED BY SMARTPHONE)
    network Type: IPv4 ( IPV means internet protocal version)
    phone ip address: automatic
    DNS address: Automatic
    Proxy server address; None
    Proxy port number: 0

    Try this setting manually and I think it should work.

    regarding MTNL TV: — they have not launched this service in 3G, yes they have launched it in 2G and I have not tried the same as I know that 2G servcie can not stream data properly as i have used youtube on Airtel Mobileoffice.
    Regarding Roaming: Since i have purchased the SIM on 12 of this month and havnt have a chance to roam, I can not say more But I feel that for Roaming purpose, Airtel is always better. i have used Airtel from maharashtra, in MUMBAi and DELHi for Data purpose till one month back before I swithched to REliance Mobile broadband for my laptop and MTNL 3g for pushmail & casual browsing on my hadset.

    and for the reason, DATA & VOICE(specially DATA since I am using Reliance and VODAFONE for VOICE), I think I shifted to MTNL from AIRTEL after LONG FOUR YEARS , after giving a lot of thought. And, I dont accept any idea or product untill I have experienced the same. in case of MTNL 3g, I purchase the SIM and I do all kind of reserch and experiment on it for next almost 10 days before finally switching over to it, like wise I opted for Reliance mobile broadband after testing it almost 5-6 different places in Delhi at different pint of time using all available tools to satisfy my requirement. I think everyone should do same before going for a new product or services. in case of costlier product you can always ask for demo. Reliance or TATA people(not from their dire3ct office) , from nearest Store of their’s will certainly visit you once you call them for demo. I purchased my Reliance connection from Vaishali store but I asked for the people from different stores e.g. Hari Nagar, Shaktinagar, Dilshad Garden, Vaishali for demo at different location. finally i was satisfied with Reliance rather than TATA and I went for the same. MY POINT HERE IS THAT, IF YOU DO A LITTLE BIT OF RESERCH BEFORE GOING FOR A SERVICE OR PRODUCT , YOU WILL BE HAPPY. THE REVIEWS put on the different websites are both correct and incorrect. I have found the people cursing Reliance/TATA/Airtel etc. for wrong service , inflated bill , wrong promise etc. but when i go in to the details I feel sorry for the reviewer for example, one person literally using abusive words for TATA PHOTON PLUS for slow speed, the fact was that the person was using the service from Bhagalpur(BIHAR), where as TATA PHOTON PLUS clearly mention in their Ad that the service is available only in PATNA in BIHAR Circle. this is one example. there must be one or more compatability factor otherwise there is no way that service should not work. atleast in my case, i have always found ,and enjoyed, a little research and experiment beforehand is always good to enjoy the beauty of technology. Yes, human error can not be denied, a salesman or Store executive may give you the wrong information. but I am sure all of we are tech savvy and net savvy at least to the extent to check the details on the websire. e.g. many ISP mention unlimited usues with a star mark mentioning somewhere in fine print the uses limit under fair uses policy. Any way, Dhirendra, I will be happy If i can be any help to you. you can call me @ 9013290648(the same MTNL 3G number). Thanks and Regards, CHANDAN

  • Navdeep kaur October 29, 2009 12:58 pm

    Hi Dhirendra,
    I agree with you but to a certain extent. even I have been using the 3G service of MTNL and I am sure what Mr chandan has mentioned are true. yes, the MTNL Customer care guys are really a pain. Yes, you have mentioned few thing which has not been discussed by chandan like how MTNL access point will work on BSNL network, but I think he has not experienced the same till date as it seems from his post that he has just enquired about the roaming and he has mentioned that Airtel Mobile is the best when it comes roaming. Well, I dont think Chandan has mentioned anything about MTNL TV. above all, I found his review useful and true, as I have been using the same and I have experienced the same speed(almost, infact the highest I have got is 1153 kbps, I have checked right now after knowing about http://www.mobilespeedtest.com from Chandan’s post).
    Navdeep Kaur

  • Dhirendra October 29, 2009 12:35 pm

    Unfortunately I don’t agree with Chandan. I activated 3G services on my mtnl 2G Sim (very first day when it was launched for prepaid users in Delhi). I own Nokia 5800 XM and Nokia E51. After activation I was well connected to 3G network. Getting settings was never a problem as their is a dedicated mtnl site for settings (http://202.159.213.32:8081/msp/html/login.jsp and believe me MTNL customer care guys have no clue about this site ;-) .)
    To my surprise when I tried to use their data service, it was pathetic on my nokia 5800. I need to try many times to use their data service. Some times it refuses to connect and displays various funny error messages. In roaming BSNL don’t recognize their access points so forget about using google maps or any other application which uses data while roaming. From past few days, If I am on 3G network and try to access data service then signal is lost completely and very often while making voice calls I can hear the voice of fighting cats (good entertainment :). Receiving calls is hard thing to imagine as caller will find me out of coverage area.
    I thought it may be because I am using 2G sim so bought a new 3G sim together with few data coupons. But problem is still the same. I have paid for data coupons but I can’t use them as their no connectivity (most of the times).
    One good thing is 3G access point works fine if you are in 2G network.
    Recently I also tried their MTNL 3G TV and subscribed for NDTV 24X7. Rs. 30 were deducted from my account and till date was not able to view any channel and according to CC guys there is no such application available yet :-(

    - A poor 3G customer

  • dataoneinfo October 29, 2009 11:49 am

    Nice one. Also happy to hear, teh PSU is performing better. I think MTNL is more professional than BSNL.

  • Merc October 29, 2009 11:40 am

    Nice review Chandan, nice to see that its working gr8 for u

  • Saral October 29, 2009 11:16 am

    Hey Chandan… thanks for sharing ur 3G experience!! most of the data users in India are looking fwd for 3G now… its gonna be a welcome technology for al the good reasons… lets hold on till the other operators also join the party :)

    - Saral

  • Suraj Gidwani October 29, 2009 10:29 am

    Hey chandan this is a great review. i am a user from mumbai who is also using 3g with nokia e71. it works really very well. However when i put the sim into the iphone it refuses to work. even my friend has a similar problem on his factory unlocked iphone 3gs.

    If u know anyone who is using it with the iphone 3g / 3gs and it is working properly can i please get hold of the setting ?

    Thanks!