WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ Feature Might Go Official Anytime Soon: Report

WhatsApp has been developing much-anticipated ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature which essentially lets the users delete a message after it has been already sent. So, next time when you send a message which is intended for someone else, you may not have to worry much.

whatsapp-new-features

Today WABetaInfo reported that the company is finally testing the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature, and yeah, the company has enabled this feature on the server side as well. But don’t expect it to work right away as it’s disabled currently.

“WhatsApp is finally testing the Delete for Everyone feature: the server finally works and it successfully recalls the message. Also if the server works, this does not mean that the feature is currently enabled. It will be remotely enabled later and seen that WhatsApp ‘enabled’ their servers for the Delete for Everyone feature, it may really be enabled soon,” said a Twitter post from WABetaInfo.

However, you only have a five-minute window to recall a message sent in the app, meaning users will be able to edit recent texts and not the older ones. “WhatsApp has added in beta the possibility to edit messages that you already sent. It is actually disabled by default and it’s under development,” said the same WABetaInfo earlier.

whatsapp-recall

Image Source: WABetaInfo

There have been abundant rumours for quite some time that the social messaging giant might launch this ‘recall’ feature soon and there have also been sightings of the feature on the Windows Phone Beta version of the same recently. It was reported earlier as well that the Android and iOS users would be the first ones to receive the update, and it seems to be the same now.

However, don’t take out the Windows Phone platform that easily because recently the same recall feature was spotted in WhatsApp Beta for Windows Phone. From all the previous rumours, we can expect an imminent launch of this feature on the messaging app.

However, there’s no info on how the feature works, at least for now. Going by some earlier reports, you can access this feature by tap-and-holding a sent message and then choose the recall option. The only other catch in addition to the five-minute window is that the feature works only if the recipient of the text has not yet viewed the message. Currently, the app already has a ‘delete message’ option in the device, but the text remains visible on the recipient’s phone.

Reported By

Leave a Reply

1 Comment on "WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ Feature Might Go Official Anytime Soon: Report"

 

Sort by:   newest | oldest

[…] last year, it was rumoured that WhatsApp is working on the recall feature where a user can delete a sent message. And the feature today went official as ‘Delete for […]

wpDiscuz