Review: Refurbished Samsung Galaxy S III

In spite of availability of Android smartphones from Indian brands at a very pocket-friendly price, we all like to get a flagship device from a worldwide brand. If you don’t know there is a market for imported handsets at a very cheap price, but they are not covered by warranty.

Fortunately there are a few Indian websites who sells genuine refurbished gadgets with manufacturers’ warranty at a very attractive price range. Gobol.in is one of such company which sells such products at awesome prices. Recently they sent us a refurbished Samsung Galaxy S III for a review.

First thing first, Galaxy S III, being world’s one of most popular smartphone does not need an introduction and many people reviewed it thoroughly. This article is more about my experience with this wonder phone.

Unboxing & First Impressions

The package was small and cute, just like regular ones. When I picked the S III from the box, I feel the light-weightness and the crispness of the phone. I got the sexy ‘Pebble Blue’ avatar. It is bit small & thin in 136.6 x 70.6 x 8.6mm if you have used a 5 inch device earlier. The thin battery cover gives a plastic feel, though it is made of polycarbonate.

Unboxing S III

There are curved edges – giving a smoothy feel. Unlike many phones with Android 4.0 ICS but without physical home key, Galaxy S III has a physical home key in front. There are well-spaced lock & volume up and down key on right and left side.

Galaxy SIII On Hands Back of S III

From the pictures it is obvious, but still I like to add that the phone was just like new one, no scratch or no usage mark over it – anytime better than most Mint condition phones sold online.

Hardware
There are thousands of websites loaded with Samsung Galaxy S III hardware details. I just attached the screenshot of the hardware details as shown by Antutu Benchmark. Galaxy S III packs with Quad core 1.4GHz Cortex A7 processor on Samsung Exynox 4412 Quad chipset, 1GB RAM, Mali-400MP GPU. There are several sensors – Accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, barometer, 8 MP main camera with LED flash, HD video record and lots of customization options. The 1.9 MP front camera is also there. The display is awesome – 4.8 inch super AMOLED capacitive touchscreen, 720x1280p, 306ppi, and with Corning Gorilla Glass 2 protection.

Screenshot_2013-03-09-02-48-19 Screenshot_2013-03-09-02-48-42

Software
Samsung Galaxy S III is running on Android 4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich but Samsung adds a layer of its own tweaked TouchWiz for better UI.

Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-05-11 Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-06-01On my usage I find the user experience is just awesome – very smooth. Touch is just like feather-touch and response of the apps are super fast which is due to its excellent technical specification.

Apps

Samsung adds some pre-loaded apps like – All Share Play, Dropbox, ChatOn, Flipboard, Games Hub, S-Memo, S Voice. You will have to install Facebook, Twitter and other apps as you need. There is no Game preloaded.

S Voice is fun to use, though my initial trial with it fails every single time. I tried to search ‘Telecomtalk’ and it heard ‘illegal doc’, ‘Delete on clock’ etc.

Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-09-45

Camera

Though S III camera can not win over Nokia’s Pureview or HTC’s UltraPixel, it takes awesomely good pictures. Even the front camera also takes print quality pictures.

Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-15-07I am adding a sample pictures taken by Samsung Galaxy S III. All mobile cameras disappointed while you shoot at night. Samsung Galaxy S III is not also an exception, still the photo quality is more than decent in night. I find the camera flash is very intelligent, it does not use much power.

20130309_222647

Connectivity
It supports micro SIM only, and thus I could not manage a micro SIM in a short time. So I had to use WiFi for internet access. WiFi, Bluetooth and GPS works with out any glitch. Though connection to PC did not work as I am using Ubuntu and Samsung intends that users install Kies – phone management application.

Performance

I tried with Antutu Benchmark. Just check the results:

Screenshot_2013-03-09-02-47-29 Screenshot_2013-03-09-02-49-04

It plays all videos with out any hicups. Check out the screenshot while playing a HD video on its default video player:

Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-57-23

A screenshot from Benji Bananas:Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-11-20

Motions: Samsung called S III as a smartphone made for humans. The Motions are fun and intuitive on Galaxy S III. Take screenshot by hovering your palm over the screen, or pause the music by shaking or taking the palm over the screen.

Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-10-21

Battery

As I did not use cellular data, it is not wise to comment on its battery. S III has 2100 mAh battery, and with WiFi and Bluetooth, FM Radio listening & moderate gaming it longs for more than 36 hours.

Conclusion

As I told earlier, Samsung Galaxy S III is the flagship device of Samsung, and you will get official Android updates very fast. And there are lots of third party stuffs for it – like CyanogenMod and other third party ROMs.

If money is the barrier between you and such a premiere device, think about refurbished handsets which are thoroughly checked up by the manufacturer itself and yet sold at huge discount (20-60% on most products) on Gobol.in. It would be a smart decision I bet on!

But note that you will get only 6 months of warranty on the handset, 3 months on the battery, and no warranty on the accesories, but remember you are spending 30% or more less. Got excited? I suggest you to visit Gobol.in !

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current ye@r *

  • Prashant Arora June 15, 2013 1:30 pm

    Hey RDB!..
    That was a much needed review of gobol.in. Thanks for that.
    Can you please provide some more photos (and a bit clearer), seeing the photos it seems there are scratches on the back panel, or i guess they are fingerprint marks. Does the phone really feel like brand new? And no scratches at all? And does the box come sealed or what?
    Thankjs

  • Biswadeep March 12, 2013 6:44 pm

    Great to know about the website…
    As items are refurbished by the company, it goes for double testing.
    Definitely worth a try !

    • Sudeept March 13, 2013 4:35 pm

      Yes there are few items which are really priced low.. And as long as they are providing manufacturer warranty there shud not be any issue…

  • Arif March 12, 2013 6:25 pm

    On gobol.in the MRP of Samsung Metro Duos C3322 shows is Rs.4200/- and selling cost Rs.2884/-. But on flipkart the brand new’s cost is Rs.3299/-.
    Not a much difference instead buying a new at least give one year warranty.

  • spiderman March 12, 2013 5:49 pm

    The price mentioned for S3 is 23.5k. For 25k Fresh S3 is available through ebay or Indiatimes with 1 year Manufacturer warranty.

  • Maddy March 12, 2013 4:29 pm

    Last year S3 is my great phone after S2. Thanks nice review. You guys really write deeply.
    I like it. Can you guys check my website review plz. My website is

    Thanks in advance.

  • VENKAT March 12, 2013 4:07 pm

    Thanks RDB for nice info. i didnt know about this. video streeming without hicups, ha ha ha, nice comparision doctor!

    • AD March 13, 2013 12:45 am

      +1, SuperLike

  • Sandeep March 12, 2013 1:00 pm

    Refurbished Samsung Galaxy SIII.. cool idea.. these guys (Gobol.in) selling refurbished samsung phones at quiet a low price..

  • CS March 12, 2013 12:40 pm

    Samsung’s UI and design sucks!