Review: Refurbished Samsung Galaxy S III

In spite of availability of Android smartphones from Indian brands at a very pocket-friendly price, we all like to get a flagship device from a worldwide brand. If you don’t know there is a market for imported handsets at a very cheap price, but they are not covered by warranty.

Fortunately there are a few Indian websites who sells genuine refurbished gadgets with manufacturers’ warranty at a very attractive price range. Gobol is one of such company which sells such products at awesome prices. Recently they sent us a refurbished Samsung Galaxy S III for a review.

First thing first, Galaxy S III, being world’s one of most popular smartphone does not need an introduction and many people reviewed it thoroughly. This article is more about my experience with this wonder phone.

Unboxing & First Impressions

The package was small and cute, just like regular ones. When I picked the S III from the box, I feel the light-weightness and the crispness of the phone. I got the sexy ‘Pebble Blue’ avatar. It is bit small & thin in 136.6 x 70.6 x 8.6mm if you have used a 5 inch device earlier. The thin battery cover gives a plastic feel, though it is made of polycarbonate.

Unboxing S III

There are curved edges – giving a smoothy feel. Unlike many phones with Android 4.0 ICS but without physical home key, Galaxy S III has a physical home key in front. There are well-spaced lock & volume up and down key on right and left side.

Galaxy SIII On Hands Back of S III

From the pictures it is obvious, but still I like to add that the phone was just like new one, no scratch or no usage mark over it – anytime better than most Mint condition phones sold online.

Hardware
There are thousands of websites loaded with Samsung Galaxy S III hardware details. I just attached the screenshot of the hardware details as shown by Antutu Benchmark. Galaxy S III packs with Quad core 1.4GHz Cortex A7 processor on Samsung Exynox 4412 Quad chipset, 1GB RAM, Mali-400MP GPU. There are several sensors – Accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, barometer, 8 MP main camera with LED flash, HD video record and lots of customization options. The 1.9 MP front camera is also there. The display is awesome – 4.8 inch super AMOLED capacitive touchscreen, 720x1280p, 306ppi, and with Corning Gorilla Glass 2 protection.

Screenshot_2013-03-09-02-48-19 Screenshot_2013-03-09-02-48-42

Software
Samsung Galaxy S III is running on Android 4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich but Samsung adds a layer of its own tweaked TouchWiz for better UI.

Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-05-11 Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-06-01On my usage I find the user experience is just awesome – very smooth. Touch is just like feather-touch and response of the apps are super fast which is due to its excellent technical specification.

Apps

Samsung adds some pre-loaded apps like – All Share Play, Dropbox, ChatOn, Flipboard, Games Hub, S-Memo, S Voice. You will have to install Facebook, Twitter and other apps as you need. There is no Game preloaded.

S Voice is fun to use, though my initial trial with it fails every single time. I tried to search ‘Telecomtalk’ and it heard ‘illegal doc’, ‘Delete on clock’ etc.

Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-09-45

Camera

Though S III camera can not win over Nokia’s Pureview or HTC’s UltraPixel, it takes awesomely good pictures. Even the front camera also takes print quality pictures.

Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-15-07I am adding a sample pictures taken by Samsung Galaxy S III. All mobile cameras disappointed while you shoot at night. Samsung Galaxy S III is not also an exception, still the photo quality is more than decent in night. I find the camera flash is very intelligent, it does not use much power.

20130309_222647

Connectivity
It supports micro SIM only, and thus I could not manage a micro SIM in a short time. So I had to use WiFi for internet access. WiFi, Bluetooth and GPS works with out any glitch. Though connection to PC did not work as I am using Ubuntu and Samsung intends that users install Kies – phone management application.

Performance

I tried with Antutu Benchmark. Just check the results:

Screenshot_2013-03-09-02-47-29 Screenshot_2013-03-09-02-49-04

It plays all videos with out any hicups. Check out the screenshot while playing a HD video on its default video player:

Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-57-23

A screenshot from Benji Bananas:Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-11-20

Motions: Samsung called S III as a smartphone made for humans. The Motions are fun and intuitive on Galaxy S III. Take screenshot by hovering your palm over the screen, or pause the music by shaking or taking the palm over the screen.

Screenshot_2013-03-10-01-10-21

Battery

As I did not use cellular data, it is not wise to comment on its battery. S III has 2100 mAh battery, and with WiFi and Bluetooth, FM Radio listening & moderate gaming it longs for more than 36 hours.

Conclusion

As I told earlier, Samsung Galaxy S III is the flagship device of Samsung, and you will get official Android updates very fast. And there are lots of third party stuffs for it – like CyanogenMod and other third party ROMs.

If money is the barrier between you and such a premiere device, think about refurbished handsets which are thoroughly checked up by the manufacturer itself and yet sold at huge discount (20-60% on most products) on Gobol . It would be a smart decision I bet on!

 

Reported By

Leave a Reply

11 Comments on "Review: Refurbished Samsung Galaxy S III"

 

Sort by:   newest | oldest
Gaurav
January 29, 2016 5:36 pm 5:36 PM

Woww… Great to hear some good reviews from you guys. Really this online store offering some amazing deals on these products even i also bought a iPhone from Gobol and seriously its look like a branded one with no scratches and a good quality performance.
Definitely you should try it once!!!!

Prashant Arora
June 15, 2013 1:30 pm 1:30 PM

Hey RDB!..
That was a much needed review of gobol.in. Thanks for that.
Can you please provide some more photos (and a bit clearer), seeing the photos it seems there are scratches on the back panel, or i guess they are fingerprint marks. Does the phone really feel like brand new? And no scratches at all? And does the box come sealed or what?
Thankjs

Biswadeep
March 12, 2013 6:44 pm 6:44 PM

Great to know about the website…
As items are refurbished by the company, it goes for double testing.
Definitely worth a try !

Sudeept
March 13, 2013 4:35 pm 4:35 PM

Yes there are few items which are really priced low.. And as long as they are providing manufacturer warranty there shud not be any issue…

wpDiscuz