WhatsApp Increasing Disappearing Messages Time Limit to 90 Days

WhatsApp is testing a feature to increase the time limit for the message expiry to as many as 90 days. So, if you choose the disappearing messages feature, then the messages that have been read will be there in the chatbox for 90 days.

Highlights

  • A new option for the disappearing messages feature is under development.
  • WhatsApp’s new disappearing messages feature will give you a slew of time limit options such as 7 days, 90 days, 24 hours and the option to turn the feature off.
  • Disappearing messages are useful for both individual and group chats.

Follow Us

WhatsApp To Increase Disappearing Messages Time Limit To 90 Days

The Facebook-owned instant messaging platform WhatsApp is reportedly working on a new feature, which is an extension to the disappearing messaging feature. Initially, WhatsApp let users send a disappearing message with a time limit of 7 days. Now, it looks like the messaging platform has increased the time limit for the message expiry to as many as 90 days.

If you choose the disappearing messages feature, then the messages that have been read will be there in the chatbox for 90 days. This feature has been rolled out to the users alongside the View Once message that brings the same feature for the photos and videos shared via the platform.

WhatsApp Extends Disappearing Messages Time Limit

As per a fresh report by WABetaInfo, the tracker site that updates the latest changes brought to WhatsApp, this new option for the disappearing messages feature is under development. While it was spotted earlier with version 2.21.9.6, the same has been rolled out as a part of version number 2.21.17.16.

Going by the screenshot shared by the report, WhatsApp’s new disappearing messages feature will give you a slew of time limit options such as 7 days, 90 days, 24 hours and the option to turn the feature off. Currently, there is not much information about the feature and we can get to know further details with the rollout of the same in the stable version.

Disappearing messages are useful for both individual and group chats. In personal chats, you can turn the disappearing messages feature on or off based on your preferences. In groups, admins control this feature. Notably, it is important to turn off the toggle prior to using the feature as it will not be turned on by default.

For those wondering why you need the disappearing feature turned on, it comes useful in conversations that need not last forever. It can be a store address, shopping life or usual forwards that you get in groups or individual conversations. You can access these as long as you want them and then remove them automatically after a specified time limit.

Reported By

Managing Editor

Chakri is a go-to guy for your next smartphone recommendation. Back in his engineering days, he used to play with smartphones by installing custom ROMs and that passion got him into the tech industry. He still goes nuts about a smartphone knocking his door for review. Currently managing everything at Telecom Talk, Chakri is trying to master PUBG Mobile in his free time.

Recent Comments

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments