TRAI Gets Maximum Complaints Against Airtel, Reliance and Vodafone

India’s leading mobile service operator Bharti airtel, Reliance Communications (Rcom) and Vodafone Essar are  on top when it comes to their Mobile Service users complaints related to Billing & Tariff related issues and Activation of chargeable Value Added Services (VAS) without explicit consent of the customer.

Indian telecom watchdog Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) has been receiving complaints against all the leading private Mobile Service Providers alleging various problems which include billing, metering & tariff related issues and activation of chargeable value added services without explicit consent of the customer.

According to the information given by Minister of State for Communication and IT. Mr Sachin Pilot’s in Lok Sabha, In last 3 years TRAI received the maximum 3571 complaints against Airtel followed by 2,151 from Reliance customers and 1,896 from Vodafone Essar customers, 1239 from Tata Docomo customers and 925 from Idea Cellular customers lodged against them for Overcharging by their mobile service operators.

The operator-wise details of complaints against private mobile service providers during last three years is given as under:

The above complaints are forwarded by TRAI to the concerned service providers for appropriate action/resolution.

TRAI has notified the Telecom Consumers Protection and redressal of Grievances Regulations, 2007 which makes it mandatory for every service provider to establish a three tier system consisting of Call center, Nodal officer and Appellate Authority for redressal of grievances of telecom consumers. The regulation also outlines the processes, procedures and time limits.

In order to improve the effectiveness of the grievance redressal system, TRAI has issued a Consultation Paper on review measures to protect interest of consumers in the telecom sector.

A telecom operator can offer at any given point of time a maximum of 25 tariff plans in a service area. The cap of 25 tariff plans(post paid and prepaid inclusive) is applicable on the Service segments of Fixed wireline, Fixed wireless , Mobile(GSM) and Mobile(CDMA) separately.

Leave a Reply

326 Comments on "TRAI Gets Maximum Complaints Against Airtel, Reliance and Vodafone"

avatar
 

Sort by:   newest | oldest
kannan
kannan
August 23, 2016 10:09 am 10:09 AM

can u people take some action against relience ? or have they bribed the whole nation? why is no one taking action on the ongoing scam of that company

Paras Vyas
Paras Vyas
August 4, 2016 4:21 pm 4:21 PM

DEAR SIR

THIS IS MY 4TH REMINDER FOR RELIANCE COMUNICATION WHICH I HAVE A POSTPAID CONNECTION
IS DISABLED FROM LAST 45 DAYS AGO WITHOUT INFORM ME FROM RELIANCE. AND WHEN I TRIED TO CONNECT CUSTOMER DESK THEY ARE SAYING ME THAT YOUR PLAN OF POSTPAID CONNECTION IS CHANGED AND YOU HAVE TO PAY MORE 1000 RUPEES AND PAY FOR IT THAN AFTER WE CAN ACTIVE YOUR CONNECTION AS OUR COMPANY POLICIES.

SIR I CAN NOT AFFORD IT
I TOLD HIM TO MY CONTINUE PLAN BUT THEY SAID NO OUR COMPANY POLICY IT CAN NOT POSSIBLE

SIR PLEASE DO TAKE ACTION

THANK YOU

PARAS VYAS
AHMEDABAD

Paras Vyas
Paras Vyas
August 4, 2016 3:53 pm 3:53 PM

Dear Sir
My postpaid reliance 3g dongle connection is already deactivated from last 40 days ago and they are saying from customer care in telephonic talk that your plan is now changed and you have to pay money for the plan and reliance is sending me bill which i deactivated connection they are saying pay the bill
Sir please do something for it my daughter is studing thrue it and the plan which they informing me is so costly i can not effort to do it as my financial coundition

thank you
paras vyas

sudhahar.N
sudhahar.N
May 25, 2016 10:59 am 10:59 AM

unable to send sms

Beryl Gloria Mendes
Beryl Gloria Mendes
May 24, 2016 8:26 pm 8:26 PM

Further to my earlier post I have also tried to get through to their customer care toll free no.18001030405 and when it asks to key in the dongle number and I do so I get a reply that I have keyed in the wrong number. My obvious thinking is that they have deactivated the number as I cannot get through to their customer care service BUT are still billing me.

Beryl Gloria Mendes
Beryl Gloria Mendes
May 24, 2016 8:19 pm 8:19 PM
I had purchased a postpaid Airtel dongle about a year ago and in the month of March 2016 I requested them to deactivate this dongle as I did not need this anymore. They registered my request but a few days later one of their customer care personnel telephoned me to rethink my request and continue with the service. They also asked me to use the sim on my phone. As their persistent urgings were going on and on I told them that I would think about it and if I was interested I would approach their hubs for filling out… Read more »
mohit singla
mohit singla
May 24, 2016 11:09 am 11:09 AM

I Have a reliance cdma netconnect in which i had recharged for 1 year . but now reliance has shut down their cdma network in punjab. i contacted customer care to refund my advance balance . but they are not giving any response to my communication.
datacard of reliance also become obsolete because of cdma. which i had purchased for 1400 rs.kindly solve my problem as soon as possible

Geetanjali kumar
Geetanjali kumar
May 20, 2016 1:17 pm 1:17 PM

From 11th May we have been complaining about the speed of the internet service and everyday we are talking to the engineer PM Mishra and he z not turning up …plz help n suggest

somnath
somnath
May 17, 2016 7:43 am 7:43 AM

The company requires this n that and no tym to refund my money.however I do have sent each n every details to them but still no response.

somnath
somnath
May 17, 2016 7:41 am 7:41 AM

I have recharged through my airtel app.money got deducted from my account but the company is not interested in refunding the amount.guys I suggest you to never use the Myairtel app,instead I have recharged through freecharge and it was successful.
And now the airtel is not interested in repling my mails.

wpDiscuz
  • Most Discussed
  • Trending

Subscribe to our email newsletter

Critics/Analysts

Sunny l SaYed Ejaz l SS l VIJAY MISHRA

AKHILESH KUMAR SHUKLA (DTH) l Colorado

Shashikant Mane l SE l Pallab

Recent Comments