Review: Mobile Handset Nokia 1280

review-Nokia-1280No, I’m not promoting a Nokia Device or forcing anybody to buy this master piece but just can’t let you know after few weeks of usage of what it is after all a low end B/W device.

Yes, I need a secondary phone and sorry I don’t want to use a dual sim phone – if this is the same case with you? Then this is a mobile for you.

I bought this handset a few weeks back without any actual intention in buying this as I’m determined to get a Nokia 1202 for the second time even. As it is discontinued some time back it’s hard to get one and I’m pleased to get this new N1280.

Frankly speaking after having hands on experience with the new device I felt heavenly and secured some peace of mind. I showed off my new device proudly on my way back home all the way

What it is for you?

1. If you are already a Smartphone user or heavy traveler and need a secondary B/W device with good battery backup and a pleasant feeling this is the one you can try.

2. If you are not at all into these phones stuff and what you need is Strong communication with ability to use day/night time irrespective of display this is a device for you.

2. You get 4 days of Battery backup with heavy texting and moderate voice calls.

3. You get an inbuilt Torch and Stereo FM Radio.

4. If you are a hardcore sms user – you need to get this for sure. What not you can even schedule sms for future which is a basic feature in this device can’t find in high end devices without any apps.

5. And last but not least you get Nokia Robust Hardware packed with some of its essence which gives you peace of mind.

nokia-1280-review

Noticeable things which you can find in this device:

1. Keypad Design is changed (Alphanumeric dust resistant tactile Keys) which gives touch light feeling compared to previous Designs (Single unit piece buttons). (Previously I used to be afraid of the tik tik sounds coming from the keypad as this might disturb any fellow mates during nights but now this soft buttons are doing their work for me.

2. Those messages in the sent items are marked with a tick as an indication and ensuring you of receipt of delivery report so that you don’t need to open the message and check for delivery report info.(Software Version 06.70)

3. The physical design of the body is very smooth giving it an elegant and rich look to hold in hands.

4. The Radio automatically stops permanently after sometime if you remove the 3.5mm headset while it starts automatically if you insert the headset within a pre-specified time with the mode (Headset/Speaker) it is played previously.

5. Adds long character support for Profile names so that we can show up on the device’s home screen compared with previous B/W devices.

Key Features

• 2G Network Support

• 1.4-inch Screen

• Alphanumeric Keypad- T9 predictive support (Hindi/English in my device)

• Stereo FM Radio

• Flashlight

• Speaking Alarm Clock

• Panchangam

• Games: Bounce,Cricket Cup and Snake Xenzia

Basic Stuff:

This handset is powered by a standard 800mAh battery and the phonebook can store up to 500 contacts, giving you enough space to store all important contacts.
You can enjoy Music with built-in Stereo FM Radio. To listen to radio, you need a compatible 3.5mm headset which doesn’t come inside the box. The phone also comes with 32 preloaded polyphonic ringtones. The phone has a flashlight that you can turn on by double-clicking on up key. The 1280 mobile supports SMS, speed dialing and picture messaging. Regular features include call tracker, calendar, speaking alarm clock, 4 way Navigator buttons and reminder. Loudspeaker is pretty decent for such a device and it works well for Radio too.

And to be funny apart from the Review, Nokia Priority sales man saw me holding a high end device and asked “For whom is this device? I answered it’s for me without any delay. He laughed and I added I need something to hit on the ground, use in rain or under sunlight and play when I feel bored and also for some Solid communication he kept silent, after all that’s the reason I got this great piece.

Price:
Nokia India Online store is selling this Mobile at a price of Rs. 989.00 Only and from local resellers bargain rates may come into play.

If anyone wonders why such a review for a B/W device?

My answer is yes, it deserved. There are many people who love and use simple B/W devices and there are still users who find difficulty in using a Rich feature set device especially old aged. Let me and others know your experiences with this device via comments if you are already using one, planning to gift someone or already gifted and what’s their feedback?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current ye@r *

  • D V Srikanth April 11, 2013 11:35 pm

    Hi.. I am very glad to see the review of the device of which I am a great admirer: Nokia 1280. I depend more on text messages than on calls and here, nothing can be more convenient than this masterpiece from Nokia. Under the hot sun, when people around me struggle to see the screen of their color mobiles/smartphones, I have no hassles in seeing the display of my Nokia 1280. Indeed! This is a top class handset!!!!!

  • Diana December 18, 2012 10:28 pm

    I love the fone but I’ve been having problems with it,one day it just automatically switched to flash SMS, for months I’ve been trying to get it back to text message mode but I don’t know how, I really need help with dis, I miss using my fone to send text messages,if anyone knows how I can switch it off plssssssss help! Thanks!

  • Sougata Das October 9, 2012 11:29 am

    i just purchased it yesterday. Once i insert my Vodafone SIM inside, after few mins the handset restarts. I went to the dealer and he said the problem lies with my Vodafone SIM. Please suggest something.

  • Cza September 20, 2012 8:18 pm

    Does it have contrast adjustment?

  • Sameer September 11, 2012 5:04 am

    Very nice review…. excellent way to market and showcase the classic now outdated model.. :)….

  • Rafeeq September 9, 2012 9:18 am

    Nice review Boss.A review which will stay apart from all others,as everyone is going behind Smartphones and Tabs.Nokia ? ?

  • rahul singh September 7, 2012 10:07 pm

    PC Sharma :In the race of stuffing new features and application, the sole purpose of Mobile Phone, i.e. Voice Calling and SMS Texting has remained far behind. The smart phones are quite complicated and they consume lot of battery and therefore most of the time the Mobile Phone remains connected with the charger.The B&W Phones are really very simple, easy to use, user friendly and provide good battery life. More importantly, you need not to charge the battery several times in a day.My Samsung Galaxy 3 Mobile Phone has gone bad in a less than 2 years’ period and presently I am using Nokia E5-00. Nokia is not as smart as Samsung Galaxy 3 is but it gives the ease of use with plenty of battery life to use whenever you want. Amid the usage of internet, facebook and twitter on Nokia E5-00, I get the battery life of 2 days. Quite good.I may go for a B&W or Basic Phone if this phone too goes wrong.

    bro if u want to compare dn compare handsets within price range and then u will know Nokia is not something extraordinary….u will find especially Samsung better dn Nokia….

  • Saptarshi Roy September 7, 2012 7:54 pm

    @srikapardhi
    Thank you sir. :)

  • Arif September 7, 2012 2:19 pm

    Now days quality of NOKIA handset is like Micromax, except high end handset.

  • PC Sharma September 7, 2012 1:06 pm

    In the race of stuffing new features and application, the sole purpose of Mobile Phone, i.e. Voice Calling and SMS Texting has remained far behind. The smart phones are quite complicated and they consume lot of battery and therefore most of the time the Mobile Phone remains connected with the charger.

    The B&W Phones are really very simple, easy to use, user friendly and provide good battery life. More importantly, you need not to charge the battery several times in a day.

    My Samsung Galaxy 3 Mobile Phone has gone bad in a less than 2 years’ period and presently I am using Nokia E5-00. Nokia is not as smart as Samsung Galaxy 3 is but it gives the ease of use with plenty of battery life to use whenever you want. Amid the usage of internet, facebook and twitter on Nokia E5-00, I get the battery life of 2 days. Quite good.

    I may go for a B&W or Basic Phone if this phone too goes wrong.

  • Fahad September 7, 2012 12:29 pm

    Arif :Which NOKIA handset support FLASH SMS? Any idea, which model?

    Almost all or most of s40 Nokia devices

  • Arif September 7, 2012 9:43 am

    Which NOKIA handset support FLASH SMS? Any idea, which model?

  • AbishekMakan September 7, 2012 7:16 am

    Nokia phones are good. Still similar Samsung and LG handsets are better

  • Sudhakar September 7, 2012 1:05 am

    I am also using Nokia 1280 in addition to my multimedia phones Nokia C6-00, Nokia N79, Nokia 5320 Expressmusic, Samsung C3322 and Videocon V1305.

    No multimedia phones can beat the simplicity of Nokia 1280.

    Nokia 1280 up up.

    One more feature is talking clock. You can press the * (star) button to hear the time. This feature is useful in the middle of the sleep when you want to know the time without opening your eyes and looking at the clock.

    Nokia 1280 lacks OFFLINE / FLIGHT mode. Nokia, please introduce this feature in basic model black and white handsets also.

    • h March 1, 2013 11:04 am

      i agree, pls introduce the flight mode in this phone !

      otherwise it is a very nice phone, only feature lacking is the flight /offline mode

  • Mayank Singh September 7, 2012 12:25 am

    I have had this phone from over an year now.
    Really awesome to be used as a secondary phone,way better then 1280.

  • Arif September 6, 2012 10:14 pm

    sam :
    Speaker boss …. You cant hear properly in itzz speaker ..
    If you are writing a review .. write all stuffs …(-ve) also
    and i think there is no Nokia Low cost phone with good N/W and Speaker …
    All of Low Cost Phones Suck !!

    Agree with sam.
    Once I was with my cousin inside hotel, I had NOKIA 3315 (Rs.4000/-) and his NOKIA 6320 (Rs. 20000/-) and both was using airtel, sitting on same table. I was getting zero network and he was getting 30% to 50% of network. The year was 2004.
    This is what I experienced only high end mobiles have good network.

  • rahul singh September 6, 2012 9:49 pm

    EmmKay :

    dhanesh :ya very correct .much better than this nokia phone@EmmKay

    ya it is for sure because latest nokia low end phones have not the same quality as Nokia 1100, 1110i, 1600, 2310 etc had. I was a Nokia user but now I am satisfied with Samsung handset.

    I agree,since nokia has started manufacturing in india and has lowered its price due to competition,its quality has detoriated a lot.and yes Samsung phones hav better signal reception,my whole family is using Samsung phones of every price range and allow r quite satisfied wid their phones.

  • abhijith September 6, 2012 9:06 pm

    Am using n8 . . Next is x1 . . Dual sim battery really last long 1450mh battery . . . Try x1 good to use . .

  • ANUPAM September 6, 2012 9:00 pm

    thinking of basic phones i got SAmsung GURU 539 CDMA
    1.it is unlocked and support any CDMA sIm(CDMA companies are now proiding SIM like GSM)

    2.the SPeaker/loud speaker is loud and works very well under noisy eniroment

    3.battery back super i recharge it in 3 days once

    4.BASIC PHONE WITH inbuit apps for FACEBOOK + TWITTER (they run without images ) and remember it is just a basic phone got nno GPRS or browser support .. no image support

    5.DUal microsd upto 4 GB suported . so u can use it as copying machine

    6.and all those usual thing like 3.5 mm jack for headphone

    7.on a side note i personnaly believe that CDMA network is much much better anyday in terms of coverage quality and radiation safety. try googling for it if u need much info

  • ssthanu September 6, 2012 7:25 pm

    good review….instead of having a spare battery of smartphone…you can have this affordable handset with you while travelling

  • srikapardhi September 6, 2012 7:08 pm

    @ S. Roy
    Excellent feedback. Appreciated

  • S. Roy September 6, 2012 6:12 pm

    No hassles, no regrets.
    The main reason why I opted for this cute little thing was because I have to do a lot of outdoor work and Polychromatic screens do not work well under direct sunlight as against Monochromatic screens which the 1280 adores. Moreover, now that our office is adopting a policy of no camera phones, this would be handy in the days (or rather years) to come. Initially, I thought I would keep this as a secondary phone and keep using my Motorola Fire as the primary one, but later, I changed my mind because this phone gives you something which a Motorola Fire won’t give which is ‘complete peace of mind’.

    Phones like these were the last word in cutting edge technology in the mid 90′s, however, they are slowly re surging , partly because the value it adds to the end user coupled with the fact that these handsets require little to no maintenance.

    I am not a Nokia boy, however, I must give them due credit because they are the only brand still manufacturing Monochromatic screen phones.

    Overall, this phone has everything that one may desire in a handset – tools like calculator, converter, stopwatch, countdown timer, calendar, torchlight and classic games like snakes, bounce, etc,. greatly increases the value of the phone.

    The only thing that I am not too happy with is the speed with which the phone book works.

    To sum up, a good buy and no regrets for sure.

  • Rajesh September 6, 2012 5:40 pm

    I have Nokia N8 and Nokia 1280…
    this mobile really rocks

  • Sumit September 6, 2012 4:43 pm

    dhanesh :@varun i never notice any problem with samsung dual sim phones.but no idea about othe brand dual sim phones

    Yes.i am also using Samsung SGH D-780 dual sim phone since 3 years.
    it’s best phone ever.it has dual active.no problem of network for both sim.

  • Prithvi September 6, 2012 4:38 pm

    Good helpful practical review by Srikapardi.

  • Sumit September 6, 2012 4:31 pm

    dhanesh :
    @varun
    i never notice any problem with samsung dual sim phones.but no idea about othe brand dual sim phones

    I am also Using Samsung SGH- D 780 since 3 years.
    There is no problem in this phone.it’s dual active.
    It’s best Phone.

  • EmmKay September 6, 2012 4:30 pm

    dhanesh :ya very correct .much better than this nokia phone@EmmKay

    ya it is for sure because latest nokia low end phones have not the same quality as Nokia 1100, 1110i, 1600, 2310 etc had. I was a Nokia user but now I am satisfied with Samsung handset.

  • dhanesh September 6, 2012 4:10 pm

    ya very correct .much better than this nokia phone@EmmKay

  • dhanesh September 6, 2012 4:07 pm

    @varun
    i never notice any problem with samsung dual sim phones.but no idea about othe brand dual sim phones

  • EmmKay September 6, 2012 4:05 pm

    I have a Samsung SGH-B130T. I got this phone from my Uncle 2 years ago as he was gonna sell. He purchased it in 2008 and boss! this handset is the best in battery backup which is about 5 days, speaker volume is very clear, dust resistent keypad, mp3 ringtones, mobile tracker and the best part of it is its body which like Nokia 1100. I never faced any problelm with this handset. I love this phone.

  • chaitanya September 6, 2012 3:59 pm

    If any one want a phone with 2 sim and best battery back up and time pass with mp3 or FM by travelling buy MICROMAX X1i EXTRA
    BEST MOBILE FOR GO AND LOOK FOR SPECIFICATION.
    BATTERY CAN BE USED BY TALKTIME 5-7 DAYS, GO ANY WHERE IN THE WORLD WITHOUT RECHAGE BY TRAVEL, SURE

  • Amit September 6, 2012 3:09 pm

    @ sam
    Signal reception is best in 1280… Infact all Nokia phones are best in build & reception. Try once

  • Amit September 6, 2012 3:06 pm

    Im using this phone from 17 months… very solid phone & best in signal reception. fell many times even from 10 feet height in train from upper birth, once a heavy wooden block fell on my phone & only small dent at the corner occured but display, speaker, body is as new as it was from day 1. Using 1020mAh battery & so getting almost 5-6 days of backup.

    FOR THOSE WHO FEEL THE EAR PIECE IS INFERIOR & CANNOT HEAR PROPERLY ” WHILE SPEAKING JUST PLACE UR FINGER TO COVER THE BACK SPEAKER HOLE” U LL NOTICE AMAZING CALL QUALITY & ALSO THE OTHER PERSON SITTING BESIDE CANNOT HEAR THE CONVERSATION”

  • varun September 6, 2012 2:59 pm

    srikapardhi :
    @ varun
    Hi Varun,
    Thanks for your comment.
    According to me – when ppl use a High end device – and that don’t satisfy battery backup so definitely we need a good backup phone and more over dual sim devices need more power due to Two individual receptions and hence more battery drain.
    Also when one wants to use a perfect smartphone without compromising in any specification which is not available in Dual Sim Model line – this a way to get satisfied. We get a high end device for use and a backup phone like this coz those 4.5? devices drain battery soon.
    Also dual sim devices have some Network issues, not because of the hardware but sometimes Network reception wont be nice as compared with normal phones when two networks fight from a same place for signal

    Thank u very much sir for ur kind reply. Now i understand the technical aspect of dual sim phones

  • srikapardhi September 6, 2012 2:47 pm

    @ sam

    I mentioned speaker is pretty decent for voice calls and not extra ordinary. Now i make it clear again it is decent in a noise less environment and for FM radio it is louder too for such a price line phone .
    Thanks

  • hitesh September 6, 2012 1:54 pm

    i have old nokia 1280
    but today i buy a new phone
    it is a great phone true.
    i replace my old phone and take new in just rs. 600

  • rajiev September 6, 2012 1:51 pm

    nice review , i m in love with this

  • sam September 6, 2012 1:39 pm

    Speaker boss …. You cant hear properly in itzz speaker ..

    If you are writing a review .. write all stuffs …(-ve) also

    and i think there is no Nokia Low cost phone with good N/W and Speaker …

    All of Low Cost Phones Suck !!

  • srikapardhi September 6, 2012 1:22 pm

    @Arif

    Sorry to say there is no clip system in this. We have to insert by force :( Anyways some ppl don’t remove the sim often and it is ok for them.

  • srikapardhi September 6, 2012 1:20 pm

    @ Ganesh

    Yes X1-01 is also a solid device. My uncle uses it.Loud speaker by the way ;)

  • Arif September 6, 2012 1:17 pm

    How is the SIM card inserting system of this handset. In all old Nokia handset there is a clip but in newer handset we have to insert SIM by force. And I dislike this type of inserting, due to friction and force SIM gets scratches and multiple remove/insert damages the SIM card.

  • Ganesh September 6, 2012 1:16 pm

    @Srikapardhi
    I exactly felt the way you felt loong time back! I have a Nokia X1-01 as my ‘solid communication’ device. For 600 rupees more, you get huge speaker with MP3 player / Stereo FM. Dual SIM phone. And no I am NOT using 2 SIMs. As it’s a dual SIM phone it has a 1320 mAh battery. Since I am using single SIM, it lasts for 10 days no problem! It lasts upto 5 days if I play music for 1 hour per day with moderate texting and voice calls!

  • Ranajit September 6, 2012 1:06 pm

    You can try Philips xenium x523, a dual sim mobile with 2000 mAh battery, a 3.2 MP camera with flash, edge, FM, Video recording, etc. Excellent battery back up and voice clarity. Price 2500/-

  • srikapardhi September 6, 2012 12:59 pm

    @ Summit

    Hi Summit,

    I have been using the device as my main phone since the very first day i bought it.
    11hrs:11min:01sec of call timers almost completed but never faced that issue that you are saying.My longest call on this device is 1Hr:45min.There may be some problem with the Network or in that particular device Hardware. I heard the problem some where too. plz suggest your friend to get the device checked at Nokia Care.

    Thanks

  • HIMANGSHU September 6, 2012 12:58 pm

    NOKIA 100 and 101 are same at all…..

  • srikapardhi September 6, 2012 12:54 pm

    @ varun

    Hi Varun,
    Thanks for your comment.
    According to me – when ppl use a High end device – and that don’t satisfy battery backup so definitely we need a good backup phone and more over dual sim devices need more power due to Two individual receptions and hence more battery drain.

    Also when one wants to use a perfect smartphone without compromising in any specification which is not available in Dual Sim Model line – this a way to get satisfied. We get a high end device for use and a backup phone like this coz those 4.5″ devices drain battery soon.

    Also dual sim devices have some Network issues, not because of the hardware but sometimes Network reception wont be nice as compared with normal phones when two networks fight from a same place for signal :P

  • Asit Paul September 6, 2012 12:46 pm

    Well review.
    As second Phone, I bought AROMA AD335 @Rs 1,050 last April and I am fully satisfied. It has 2.0 inch TFT Color Display, 1050 mAh Battery, Dual SIM, Mp3 Player, Bluetooth etc. What I liked is its excellent backup! Its quite useful during travelling!

  • Summit September 6, 2012 12:23 pm

    there is one thing that has been worrisome – sometimes the phone tends to lose signal in midst of calls – i have confirmed it from a friend who has the same handset.

  • varun September 6, 2012 12:17 pm

    Mr srikapardhi, i woant to know that why dont u want dual sim mobiles for 2 numbers? is this because dual sim phones have network problem? is it true? or any other answer to this query, i eagerly wanted to know? Guys please reply my question also….

  • varun September 6, 2012 12:15 pm

    Mr srikapardhi, i woant to know that why dont u want dual sim mobiles for 2 numbers? is this because dual sim phones have network problem? is it true? or any other answer to this query, i eagerly wanted to know? Guys please reply my question also.

  • Animesh September 6, 2012 12:06 pm

    Yes I had bought 2 of these devices, even though I have only one device now,My other phone is a blackberry 8520, this seems to be one of the coolest basic phone giving a nostalgic feeling about nokia 3310

  • Spiderman September 6, 2012 12:03 pm

    Nice review & Nokia s the best among these basic phones !
    I’ve bought a Reliance clasic 7610 Classic single SIM GSM for a price of 600 Rs recently & I didn’t like it at all (I’m ready to sell anybody in blr for 400 Rs :-) ) ! I bought it since its so cheap, but now I guess, I need to have consider Nokia 1280 as my secondary phone :-)

  • Sougata Das September 6, 2012 11:57 am

    I also feel that a good battery back up handset is required. Planning to buy this model after your review. I will also provide my feedback once in get it.