WhatsApp’s Delete for Everyone feature was acclaimed by many out there, however, there’s one big flaw with the new feature. This feature works effortlessly between two persons, but when it comes to group chats, it doesn’t work in one situation. Assume that you have sent a message to any WhatsApp group, and if someone quoted your message before you even delete it, then the message will not be deleted at others end, meaning other members in the group can still see the message, but for you, it will show as the message is deleted.
In the above-mentioned case, the ‘Delete for Everyone‘ feature becomes ineffective and TheNextWeb quoted it as a feature, rather than a bug. However, there’s no mentioning of this feature on WhatsApp’s FAQ page. There might be a lot of people who noticed this including you, but we left it assuming it as a bug. Turns out to be it’s not a bug and a feature instead.
For the unaware, WhatsApp at the end of last year released the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature allowing users to send an delete a message within seven minutes after sending. If another user in a group quotes your message, that message will not be deleted, and it still shows up even after you delete it.
While WhatsApp received huge praise for the feature because it was one of the most requested features of all time, it is ridden with quirks. Already WhatsApp was criticised earlier because there’s a possibility in Android platform to recover the deleted messages.
However, that issue has something to deal with Android platform rather than with WhatsApp, and the newly discovered quoted messages report is a feature itself. At least, WhatsApp should have mentioned about this on the FAQ page where it detailed the feature to remove all this confusion. WhatsApp has rolled out the Delete for Everyone feature to all of its users across the globe.