Pan India Mobile Operator Code section updated with 65+ new MSC codes

Follow Us

Every telecom operator in the world is assigned a binumeral number to identify its network. The first part of this number is known as Mobile Country Code (MCC) and the other part is known as the Mobile Network Code (MNC) and they are represented in MCC-MNC format. The MCC for the operator remains constant throughout the country while the MNC varies from circle to circle.For example if during manual network search on your mobile you see an operator with code 405-827 you would know that it is Videocon telecom in Gujarat circle.

Along with assigning the MNC codes, the Department of telecommunications also assigns a number series to each operator in different circles called the MSC code. This constitutes the first 5 digits of your mobile number. Dot keeps assigning new MSC codes to operators who manage to garner a subscriber base of over a million subscribers in a licensed service area.

It has been a long time since we last updated the Mobile operator codes section of our site and there have been 65 new MSC codes that have been allocated by DOT to operators since the last update. This also includes MSC codes which were previously allotted to operators whose licenses were quashed by the government in Feb 2012.

Below is a list of the 65 updated MSC codes. For further details click on the Mobile operator codes option in the top menu bar.

9132AircelAssam9515IdeaAndhra Pradesh – Telangana
7269AircelUttar Pradesh (E)9133IdeaAndhra Pradesh – Telangana
7270AircelUttar Pradesh (E)7871IdeaTamil Nadu + Chennai
7271AircelUttar Pradesh (E)8546IdeaKarnataka
7272AircelUttar Pradesh (E)8548IdeaKarnataka
7273AircelBihar – Jharkhand8549IdeaKarnataka
7274AircelBihar – Jharkhand8550IdeaKarnataka
7279AircelBihar – Jharkhand9061IdeaKerala
8383AircelDelhi9128IdeaBihar – Jharkhand
8433AircelDelhi9124Tata DocomoOrissa
7210AircelDelhi9147Tata DocomoKolkata
8268AircelMumbai9151Tata DocomoUttar Pradesh (E)
8599AircelKolkata7266UninorUttar Pradesh (E)
8620AircelKolkata7267UninorUttar Pradesh (E)
8621AircelKolkata7268UninorUttar Pradesh (E)
9109AirtelMadhya Pradesh9119UninorUttar Pradesh (W)
9172AirtelMaharashtra9170UninorUttar Pradesh (W)
9108AirtelKarnataka9520UninorUttar Pradesh (W)
8942AirtelWest Bengal8999VideoconGujarat
7899AirtelKarnataka9144VideoconMadhya Pradesh
9100AirtelAndhra Pradesh – Telangana9072VodafoneKerala
9116AirtelRajasthan7280VodafoneBihar – Jharkhand
9521AirtelRajasthan7281VodafoneBihar – Jharkhand
9516IdeaMadhya Pradesh7282VodafoneBihar – Jharkhand
9126IdeaAssam7283VodafoneBihar – Jharkhand
9514IdeaTamil Nadu8117VodafoneMumbai
9134IdeaWest Bengal8118VodafoneMumbai

Also refer to: Pan India 2015 spectrum holding data sheet

A special thanks to Duane for taking the efforts of updating the data chart for us. Keep reading TelecomTalk for the latest News and Analysis of the Indian telecom industry.

Reported By

Content writer

Esmail is our very own in-house spectrum specialist. He is passionate about Telecom, DTH and OTT video streaming apps. When not writing an article, you can find him binge watching shows on Netflix while sipping on a cup of coffee.

Recent Comments

Notify of
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments