Twitter Revamps its Messages Feature; Now Has a New ‘Requests’ Tab Which Stores Messages from Unknown People

By May 31st, 2017 AT 4:32 PM

While the social network giant Facebook is lifting features from Snapchat and implementing them in Instagram, the microblogging site, Twitter has lifted a feature from Facebook. Twitter is now giving more control over the direct messages you receive from the persons whom you don’t follow.

Twitter-1

This feature works same as the Facebook’s messaging one which keeps the messages from unknown people in a separate requested tab. Starting today, there will be a new ‘Requests’ tab in the Messages menu of Twitter along with the normal Inbox Tab. All the messages from the people you don’t follow will go into the requests, while the other messages come directly to the inbox.

“If you have the Receive messages from anyone setting enabled, incoming messages from people you don’t follow will appear as Requests in the Messages tab. New group conversations that you’re added to by people you don’t follow will also appear in Requests,” says Twitter in its support page.

Furthermore, entering the unknown conversation in the requests folder, you will be asked to either Delete or Accept the message. Accepting the message will allow you to engage with the person, and will move the message to your inbox. Do make a note that the person will not know that you have seen the message until you accept the request.

Twitter-2

Twitter also made some changes in the application. For example, if you have the receive messages from anyone setting enabled, incoming messages from people you don’t follow will appear as Requests in the Messages tab. Also, the new group conversations that you’re added to by people you don’t follow will also appear in Requests.

READ:  WhatsApp Finally Introduces Frequently Forwarded Tags After a Year of Testing

There’s one more interesting feature. So, if you delete the message, it will be removed from your inbox and also prevent that account from sending you messages in the future. That said if you accidentally delete a message, then the person can’t send you messages.

Read more on:

Chakri is a go-to guy for your next smartphone recommendation. Back in his engineering days, he used to play with smartphones by installing custom ROMs and that passion got him into the tech industry. He still goes nuts about a smartphone knocking his door for review. Currently managing everything at Telecom Talk, Chakri is trying to master PUBG Mobile in his free time.

Leave a Reply

avatar
Photo and Image Files
 
 
 

Recent Posts

Tata Sky Providing 13 Semi-Annual Packs to New Customers Purchasing SD Set-Top Box

Tata Sky has been all over the internet as the DTH operator is planning a lot of new things to...

Bharti Airtel Data Add-Ons for Prepaid Users Start at Rs 28: Pricing and Benefits Detailed

Bharti Airtel is currently providing five data add-ons to its prepaid subscribers in the country. The prices of these data...

BSNL Annual Broadband Plans Above Rs 399 Will Now Ship With Free Amazon Prime Membership

State-run telco, BSNL, today officially announced that its annual broadband plans priced over Rs 399 will now ship with Amazon...