WhatsApp to Limit Account Functionality of Users if Privacy Terms are Not Accepted by May 15

For a short time, you'll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won't be able to read or send messages from the app, said WhatsApp in a new FAQ.

By February 21st, 2021 AT 9:07 PM

WhatsApp has confirmed that it will go ahead with the new privacy policy and has set a new deadline of May 15. WhatsApp users will be required to accept the policy before the deadline; WhatsApp says users can still accept the new policy terms post the deadline, but here comes the major catch- if you don’t accept the new terms by May 15, your account functionality will be limited. Yes, WhatsApp confirmed that users would be able to receive calls and notifications but won’t be able to read to send messages from the app. Basically, WhatsApp is forcing you to accept the new terms or else live with limited functionality or delete the WhatsApp account entirely.

WhatsApp New Privacy Policy Coming into Effect on May 15

On January 4, WhatsApp started pushing the new privacy policy to users across the globe. The Facebook-owned company then faced a tremendous backlash and the rival apps- Telegram and Signal started becoming popular. Since then, WhatsApp explained the new privacy to the users saying it will never collect user data and it will never be shared with its parent company Facebook. The company pushed several status updates to explain how the new privacy policy works.

In a new FAQ post, WhatsApp says it is giving enough time to the users to review changes at their own pace and convenience. The effective date when the new policy will come into effect on May 15. Earlier, WhatsApp just said that user accounts would become inactive if they don’t accept the new policy update. Now, WhatsApp says the user accounts will remain active, however, with limited functionality.

For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app, said WhatsApp in a new FAQ.

Having said that, the company further said users can still accept the updates after May 15, although the account will be deemed as ‘inactive.’ It seems like WhatsApp will flag your account as inactive if you don’t accept the new privacy policy before the deadline. If you are not willing to accept the new privacy policy, WhatsApp says you can export the chat history and delete the account.

Read more on:

Chakri is a go-to guy for your next smartphone recommendation. Back in his engineering days, he used to play with smartphones by installing custom ROMs and that passion got him into the tech industry. He still goes nuts about a smartphone knocking his door for review. Currently managing everything at Telecom Talk, Chakri is trying to master PUBG Mobile in his free time.

guest
3 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Recent Posts

Tata Sky Broadband 500 Mbps Plan With Unlimited Data Costs Rs 2,300 per Month

  Tata Sky has been growing its broadband business quite aggressively over the last few years. Tata Sky Broadband now...

Jio 749 Plan: Unlimited Calls, 24GB Data, One Year Validity and Full Offer Breakdown

Reliance Jio introduced a new Rs 749 plan to existing JioPhone customers alongside two plans for new JioPhone users. The...

JioPhone 2021 Offer Allows Customers to Get 12 Months of Service at Just Rs 749

Reliance Jio has finally introduced a new offer for the JioPhone existing and new users. JioPhone is one of the...