TRAI Gets Maximum MNP Rejection Complaints Against Airtel

MNP-IndiaIndia’s leading mobile service operator Bharti airtel, Vodafone Essar, Idea Cellular are on top when it comes to their Mobile Service users complaints related to rejection of Mobile Number Portability (MNP requests).

Indian telecom watchdog Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) has been receiving complaints against all the leading private Mobile Service Providers alleging unnecessary rejection of MNP Port Out requests.

According the the to the information given by Mr Milind Deora Minister of State for Communications and IT to the Rajya Sabha, TRAI received the maximum 893 complaints against largest mobile service provider Bharti airtel, while Vodafone Essar and Idea Cellular had faces 792 and 313 complaints.

While there were 307 complaints against Reliance Communications (Rcom GSM/CDMA), 149 complaints against Tata Teleservices (Tata Docomo GSM /CDMA) and 134 complaints against Loop Mobile (formerly known as BPL Mobile).

Mr Deora also said that on the basis of customers MNP complaints received, information was sought by TRAI to the operators on the rejections and in case of violations and show-cause notices were also issued.

All the complaints are forwarded by TRAI to the concerned service providers for appropriate action/resolution.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current day month ye@r *

  • HARINATH December 4, 2013 9:10 pm

    I have submitted MNP from airtel to Vodafone for 4 times and all the times there is no response from airtel. Even Vodafone says there is no issue with them. Not sure why the MNp is not processed. I want file a complaint with TRAI on this.
    Please help….

    • SS December 4, 2013 9:23 pm

      File your complain on pgportal.gov.in in department of telecommunications section.

  • BASAVARAJ BETAGERI September 24, 2013 12:20 pm

    I have done a mnp from bsnl to tata DoCoMo service, bsnl provider rejected my mnp request. now how to get that no, where to go. please tell me. above said provider not taking responsibility to get my no. please guide in this regard.

    thanks.

  • jahangir March 25, 2012 11:20 am

    airtel prepaid no. 9932759739 i also faced the problem of mnp.i got a sms almost every month that some services was activate and chargeble on my number but i had not apply for that.i try to know the reason of such activated from airtel customer care but they could not give the appropiate reason and ignoring foult of the company.after that i send a sms on 14.2.2012 on no.1900 for mnp and get a unique code.after that i contact to vodafone and complete the procedure.but within the expiry(29.2.2012.)airtel did not portabite my number to vodafone.i call many time to airtel customer care and fade up.

  • Naseem akhter February 29, 2012 4:12 pm

    As I Naseem Akhtar applied for MNP from Vodafone to Tata Docomo on 5 dec 2011 with my personal documents I.D as previously it was with my brotherI.D named irshad Ahmad,
    As i was communicated from TATA DOCOMO gallery executive to give fresh ID,then I got a confirmation SMS from Vodafone on 7 Dec that your MNP is successful with porting code VE345541,
    On 15 dec I got another SMS from Vodafone that your Vodafone No MNP request has been Rejected and got another SMS from Tata Docomo stating the same.
    When I went to Vodafone store they told me that your no is deactivated from here you need to contact to Tata Docomo for further process and when I went Tata Docomo the told me your no has been rejected from Vodafone. many time i visit both store but problem still out . Finally 2 month later vodafone told me your number ported out from here to AIRCEL. When i visited aircel store they told me we coul’d not help you because your number is not your ID. We did not give you any information on this number.
    plz suggest me how can i get my own number !
    atl no-08726385656
    email-nasimkhan098@gmail.com

  • manoj February 29, 2012 1:11 pm

    Airtel is the worst network i hav ever seen, its of nly money minded. its not releaving custumers to other networks

  • chickpet February 24, 2012 10:41 am

    TRAI can impose a fine of Re.0.01 per complaint received on the donor operator.

  • bharath February 22, 2012 3:38 pm

    Airtel is not releasing me from its network. I have tried a lot of time and complaint several times.. but no use.. its a waste network , minding only on money from subscribers.

  • Shankar December 13, 2011 11:35 pm

    @Sudhakar

    You are a jerk sitting far away in Tamilnadu and commenting based on Idea’s website. Idea is a chor company and it will publish any lie! Even TRAI will do nothing because Idea and its cartel friend Vodafone throw money like anything. Hence no acyion will be taken against them!

    Do everyone a favor, come to Mumbai and Maharashtra and use Idea to see it for yourself. Or better write to the CEO of Idea cellular – himanshu.kapania@idea.adityabirla.com, rajat.mukarji@idea.adityabirla.com and confirm from him itself if Idea charges roaming between Mumbai and Maharashtra!

  • Abhijit December 13, 2011 1:52 pm

    Sudhakar :
    Will not be charged the above rates means the roaming rates.

    I already said that you are saying with reference to Idea Website Roaming page info but in practical that website info is wrong at least for Maharashtra & Mumbai circles..
    We practically here are charged as per roaming tariffs…

  • Sudhakar December 13, 2011 6:33 am

    Will not be charged the above rates means the roaming rates.

  • Sudhakar December 13, 2011 6:32 am

    To Abhijit :

    No. Look at the roaming page properly.

    Read these sentences stated below the roaming tariff of IDEA network :

    “Customers of Idea Maharashtra & Goa will not be charged the above rates while roaming in Idea Mumbai and vice versa. Please call customer care for details.

    Customers of Idea Kolkata will not be charged the above rates while roaming in Idea West Bengal and vice versa. Please call customer care for details.

    Customers of Idea Uttar Pradesh East will not be charged the above rates while roaming in Idea Uttar Pradesh West vice versa. Please call customer care for details”.

  • Abhijit December 12, 2011 9:06 pm

    Sudhakar :
    To Abhijit and Sajju :
    Idea does not charge roaming rates for Mumbai subscriber who roams in Maharashtra and vice versa. The same applies for West Bengal and Kolkata and other (telecom circle joint) states.
    Warning to you both : DO NOT SPREAD WRONG INFORMATION.
    To telecomtalk : Why are you not censoring the wrong information?.

    No bro. I think U just saw Idea roaming page info on Idea website and saying this! We are living in Mumbai & Pune and travel between this cities almost daily for work, relatives purpose. And I have used both Maharashtra and Mumbai circles Idea Prepaid Sims and for your kind information none of the GPRS pack or Sms pack or calling rate STV works of both circles in each other circles or wise versa. Only their is own voucher available in both circle to reduce call rate from each other circle and they are as follow. If you have Maharashtra circle Idea sim then recharge with Mumbai spl voucher Rs.24 then mobile calls at rs.1.2ps/sec and landline calls at 1.5ps/sec for 180days and same rate apply from roaming Mumbai Idea also. And if you have Mumbai Idea sim then rechg with Maharashtra spl voucher of rs.3 then all calls at 1ps/sec from home+ idea Maharashtra roaming nw. But sms rate and gprs as per roaming rate.

  • Singh December 12, 2011 8:30 pm

    Airtel ek number ka chor hai..!!! see their history…everyone in the corporate world knows this. how they charge 10 paise more to their more than 1 crore users to gain unscrupulous money.

  • Sudhakar December 12, 2011 8:28 pm

    To Abhijit and Sajju :

    Idea does not charge roaming rates for Mumbai subscriber who roams in Maharashtra and vice versa. The same applies for West Bengal and Kolkata and other (telecom circle joint) states.

    Warning to you both : DO NOT SPREAD WRONG INFORMATION.

    To telecomtalk : Why are you not censoring the wrong information?.

  • Abhijit December 12, 2011 7:00 pm

    Sajju :
    Idea also has very good coverage, but since it considers roaming between Maharashtra and Mumbai and vice versa, I did not opt for it. If Idea didn’t have this bad policy, I would have certainly considered using Idea.
    Because with roaming between Maharashtra and Mumbai and vice versa, even though the incoming calls are free, outgoing calls, sms, gprs etc are charged at roaming rates, which is unfair and unethical given that almost all other operators (except idea and thief vodafone) don’t consider roaming between Maharashtra and Mumbai and vice versa.
    Thats why I shifted to BSNL for excellent network coverage and Tata Docomo for excellent offers. And both of them don’t consider roaming between Maharashtra and Mumbai and vice versa. F*** Vodafone and Idea for that!

    Very True and Well Said… I also Use Airtel & Docomo in my Dual Sim… And BSNL 3G in 3G Handset …

    Idea is very Worst than Vodafone as Idea consider roaming for GPRS pack also… Free GPRS usage from subscribed GPRS pack cannot be consumed from roaming Idea Network…

    Now-a-days world is coming closer due to Internet & Social network… But Idea’s Bad Policy is urging user to stay far away from Internet while you are traveling across India… Now consider Mumbai circle which limits is just 50kms, so Idea Mumbai user is on GPRS Rs.98 pack which gives 1GB free data usage so that user’s Internet world is limited to just 50kms… if that person crosses circle boundary and tried to connect to the world then for 10MB GPRS access it will cost RS.100…

    So Dump Idea for above reasons… And I don’t know Why Idea is getting so much users through MNP, either they must be not knowing about above fact or they might be never traveling outside of their respective circle…

  • akila December 11, 2011 6:00 pm

    hi.. i am planning to shift to aircel. can any1 tell hoe the network is in bangalore. and also let me know about the gprs plan and speed , also let me know abt mnp aircel offers

  • HSB December 11, 2011 3:47 pm

    Can anyone let me know how the Tata Docomo 2G and 3G services are in Chandigarh as well as rest of Punjab ?

  • sAm December 11, 2011 12:52 pm

    I have applied to port-in to Vodafone from Airtel bcoz of d superior netw of d former.Hope evrythng goes well and d portin gets success.

  • Sajju December 11, 2011 12:22 pm

    Idea also has very good coverage, but since it considers roaming between Maharashtra and Mumbai and vice versa, I did not opt for it. If Idea didn’t have this bad policy, I would have certainly considered using Idea.

    Because with roaming between Maharashtra and Mumbai and vice versa, even though the incoming calls are free, outgoing calls, sms, gprs etc are charged at roaming rates, which is unfair and unethical given that almost all other operators (except idea and thief vodafone) don’t consider roaming between Maharashtra and Mumbai and vice versa.

    Thats why I shifted to BSNL for excellent network coverage and Tata Docomo for excellent offers. And both of them don’t consider roaming between Maharashtra and Mumbai and vice versa. F*** Vodafone and Idea for that!

  • Sajju December 11, 2011 12:14 pm

    dskushwaha :

    george :
    @jiten
    can u send me state wise number 1 operator list. someone told me reliance gsm brand is best in coverage in india

    Someone has totally misguided you. Ask if he has traveled across India before declaring RGSM as the best network of India. RGSM has the worst network coverage in the circle in which it was late entrant. In MP, Orissa, Bihar, WB, Assam RGSM was one of the first few entrants (It was Reliance SMART in those days). There the network is fairly good. But in others even the outdoor network coverage is very poor.

    100% true. I suffered a lot with Rcom because of worst indoor coverage and very poor roaming network. On top of that regular false VAS activations. Rcom was a nightmare and I ported out of it for good! Currently I am using BSNL and Tata Docomo in Maharashtra.

  • Sajju December 11, 2011 12:12 pm

    Neelam :
    We are suffering a lot from Airtel services. They are going down day by day…I am going to switch to BSNL. Its best….

    +1

  • Sajju December 11, 2011 12:10 pm
  • dskushwaha December 11, 2011 11:43 am

    george :
    @jiten
    can u send me state wise number 1 operator list. someone told me reliance gsm brand is best in coverage in india

    Someone has totally misguided you. Ask if he has traveled across India before declaring RGSM as the best network of India. RGSM has the worst network coverage in the circle in which it was late entrant. In MP, Orissa, Bihar, WB, Assam RGSM was one of the first few entrants (It was Reliance SMART in those days). There the network is fairly good. But in others even the outdoor network coverage is very poor.

  • Neelam December 11, 2011 10:12 am

    We are suffering a lot from Airtel services. They are going down day by day…I am going to switch to BSNL. Its best….

  • Raaj December 11, 2011 10:10 am

    saajan :
    guys which operator is best according to u????
    i say VODAFONE is best! although its costly but superior service….

    you ar right!if you want superior service,you need Vodafone.Vodafone has extremely powerful network specially in Kolkata,ROB,Gujrat,UP,Mumbai,Delhi,Kerala

  • Raaj December 11, 2011 10:03 am

    I had to call the Nodal Officer of Reliance to get the UPC when I ported out from the f*****g operator,because everytime i sent the msg,Rs1 was deducted but no UPC was sent to me.Airtel,no wonder is the king of all good and bad things.They reject MNP requests and still adding fewer customers than Vodafone or Idea.

  • george December 11, 2011 9:17 am

    @jiten
    can u send me state wise number 1 operator list. someone told me reliance gsm brand is best in coverage in india

  • Rohan Singh December 11, 2011 8:59 am

    saajan :
    guys which operator is best according to u????
    i say VODAFONE is best! although its costly but superior service….

    Vodafone system is made to reduce ur balance only.

  • mahesh December 11, 2011 8:09 am

    Pls tell where to make complains to TRAI ? Pls give me its all details . . .

  • M@yur December 11, 2011 6:11 am

    @Rohan Singh
    Yes, here in Maharashtra airtel coverage is not good as it works under 1800mhz frequency…idea, vodafone and bsnl has good coverage…bsnl has good coverage in 3g than any other operator…

  • vinay December 11, 2011 2:34 am

    @jiten
    also imp is to know from how many total complaints, the rejection percentage was arrived.

  • jiten December 11, 2011 12:25 am

    saajan :guys which operator is best according to u????i say VODAFONE is best! although its costly but superior service….

    How you know tht VF is best for your state? what are the conditions you decide to choose number one category? please let us know so tht I can send you statewise list of #1 operators of Indian territory. Thanks

  • jiten December 11, 2011 12:01 am

    Something goes wrong with Milind Deora or TRAI to figure out of Airtel & other operators or may be typo error from media i think they forgot to mention IN MILLION. This is fake figure published by Mdeora in Parliament to save Airtel & pvt ops, if we count physically from our own local area it would be more than that. But whenever concern to PSU operators figure comes true or inflated than actual. Shame on you ministers please try to speak truth.

  • saajan December 10, 2011 10:38 pm

    guys which operator is best according to u????
    i say VODAFONE is best! although its costly but superior service….

  • Rohan Singh December 10, 2011 10:31 pm

    Airtel has very poor network in pune …

  • Boss December 10, 2011 9:49 pm

    Yes Fuuck airtel

  • siva December 10, 2011 9:42 pm

    “Maximum MNP Rejection Complaints Against Airtel”, so maximum unsatisfied customers with Airtel. I was also one of the victim of airtel 5 months ago. I hate airtel.

  • Sam from Kashmir December 10, 2011 8:55 pm

    george :@joseph joy christopher customers are leaving AirTel due to poor coverage and connectivity issues but their call rates are cheapest in the market. Even in arica, bangladesh they provide cheap isd rates. so go for airtel if u can compromise on average network but affordable tariffs even for students

    No sir i think u have wrong information about airtel…. airtel have good nework and coverage and higher call rates then other operators idea, and reliance gives cheepest call rates i hve reliance postpaid Plan 49 1p all with roaming and i have activated 99 UL R to R……. enjoy

  • Abhijith December 10, 2011 8:32 pm

    @lakshmanan
    Good joke . . Ha ha ha . . Brother What made u think so . .

  • george December 10, 2011 7:42 pm

    @joseph joy christopher
    customers are leaving AirTel due to poor coverage and connectivity issues but their call rates are cheapest in the market. Even in arica, bangladesh they provide cheap isd rates. so go for airtel if u can compromise on average network but affordable tariffs even for students

  • joseph joy christopher December 10, 2011 7:10 pm

    reliance is worst port no not being generated

  • Amit Deb Biswas December 10, 2011 6:31 pm

    Every time i want to port out my airtel number CC call me and give me good offers.. If someone accept their offers they cancel his port request..

  • lakshmanan December 10, 2011 4:11 pm

    @Abhijith
    you seem to be a employee of airtel people are screaming everywhere against this company

  • Saurabh Sinha December 10, 2011 3:53 pm

    vinay :
    suppose i m having mtnl no. 9869000123. if it isnt lifetime no., n i dont extend my validity, then mtnl vl cancel the no. n keep it with them n reallot it to some new customers.
    now if i hv ported my no. to say, airtel. n use it for my airtel recharge n subsequently if the no. isnot used, then suppose no. gets cancelled (in rarest case), then who vl b the owner of that no.? is it airtel or mtnl. coz then airtel can reallot mtnl’s no. to some new customers. in my opinion the original mtnl no. shud go to mtnl only. any views….

    In case of cancellation of any no., that no. will go to original owner.

  • vinay December 10, 2011 3:30 pm

    suppose i m having mtnl no. 9869000123. if it isnt lifetime no., n i dont extend my validity, then mtnl vl cancel the no. n keep it with them n reallot it to some new customers.

    now if i hv ported my no. to say, airtel. n use it for my airtel recharge n subsequently if the no. isnot used, then suppose no. gets cancelled (in rarest case), then who vl b the owner of that no.? is it airtel or mtnl. coz then airtel can reallot mtnl’s no. to some new customers. in my opinion the original mtnl no. shud go to mtnl only. any views….

  • Abhijith December 10, 2011 3:21 pm

    @Nilanjan
    Airtel not like Vodafone . . Vodafone is no.1 fraud . . Look tt posting

  • Abhijith December 10, 2011 3:19 pm

    @Saurabh gupta
    i think it ill be registered complaint brother in numbers. .

  • sAm December 10, 2011 3:18 pm

    When it comes to subscriber addition due to MNP, everytym Airtel,Vodafone n Idea occupy d first 3 positions.
    Again, these 3 come first in Port-Out rejection.!!!!lol

  • Nilanjan December 10, 2011 2:11 pm

    Airtel is fraud company

  • Saurabh gupta December 10, 2011 2:03 pm

    Only 893 i feel real number is more then 100 times many of my friend also face such problem with airtel and vodafone