Facebook has introduced new features that the company says will help people better manage their identities on the social network. Facebook launched the facial recognition feature dubbed “Photo Review” which alerts you whenever you show up in someone else’s photos.
With the feature enables, you’ll get notifications whenever someone uploads a photo of you even if you are not tagged. Facebook’s advanced AI will recognise you, and a send you an alert.
The feature, however, will work if you’re in someone’s profile photo which is always public. For other photos, you only get a notification if you’re in the audience for the photo. This means you won’t be notified in case you are not allowed to see that photo. Facebook says this is to protect uploader’s privacy and not alert you to photos you’re not allowed to see.
"You’re in control of your image on Facebook and can make choices such as whether to tag yourself, leave yourself untagged, or reach out to the person who posted the photo if you have concerns about it," Facebook said.
Once you get the notification, you have the option to add a tag to the photo, or leaves the photo untagged. Moreover, you have the option to report the photo if you find it inappropriate.
Furthermore, the company says they’ll roll out another feature that will let you know if someone is trying to you using your photo as a profile pic.
It is worth mentioning both these features are optional for users. Facebook is adding a new overarching photo and video facial recognition opt-out privacy setting. This will delete AI’s face template for you and deactivate the new Photo Review feature as well as the old Tag Suggestions that used facial recognition to assist in tagging when friends posted a photo of you.
Coming to the availability of the new feature, Facebook said Photo Review would be available in most places except Canada and EU where the privacy laws prevent using the facial recognition technology.
In addition, Facebook added a feature to assist the visually impaired. Now Facebook’s machine Vision-powered feature that describes what’s in a photo also will read aloud the names of untagged friends.