Google Meet, the video conferencing platform has hit the headlines as it lets users add as many as 25 co-hosts per meeting. Also, users can impose limitations on who can share their screen, mute all users, send chat messages and end meetings, claims a report by IANS.
Through a post on the Workspace blog, Google stated that it is expanding the meeting moderation controls within Meet and introducing many high-requested features. As per the update from the company, these co-hosts can be allowed access and use the host controls as well.
New Google Meet Feature
From the Quick Access setting, users can easily control who can request permission to join a meeting. Earlier, the safety features were available only for the users of Google Workspace for Education. As Google Meet has got the new controls, users of the video chat app on both mobile and desktop can make use of these capabilities.
The delegated co-hosts on Google Meet can handle controls such as launching polls, muting participants, and managing Q&As. This way, the host will get more time to focus on the discussions and guiding attendees through their presentations, added Google in the statement.
When it is enabled, hosts of a meeting on Google Meet can limit who can share the screen, mute all participants with a single click, limit who can send chat messages and end the meeting for all participants. In the applicable Google Workspace editions, hosts of meetings can share hosting privileges with other participants of up to 25 per meeting. From the People panel, the host can grant them the necessary controls.
By default, the Quick Access control will be enabled and it will let participants from the domain automatically join the meeting either from a desktop or mobile service and by dialing in. the Quick Access setting will be available for Google Workspace Essentials, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Business Standard, Business Plus, Education Fundamentals, Education Standard, Education Plus, and Teaching and Learning Upgrade customers.
In the coming weeks, Google will come up with a setting for the admins that will let them control if the Host Management settings will be turned on or off by default, added Google.