Mobile VAS Complaints Declined After Strict Norms & Measures Undertaken By TRAI

India’s telecom regulator TRAI today said that complaints of false activation of Value Added Services (VAS) have declined after tightens norms and following measures undertaken by it in last few months.

A decline in activation of Value Added Services is noticed after measures taken

The Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (Trai) today issues VAS complaints data shows that in July 2013, the total number of VAS complaints were down to 1,85,468 as compared to 2,59,476 in June,2013.

Total Complaints of VAS from April 2013 to Aug 2013

Earlier TRAI stringent guidelines for activation of VAS in July where as the regulator had mandated that mobile service operators have to take double confirmation from consumers (consent of customers) before activating any VAS on their service connection and must complete deactivation requests with in four hours if any.

The mobile service users can register complaints about wrongful activation of VAS on a toll-free common number for all operators, 155223.

As per TRAI norms, in case of wrong activation of VAS, the amount shall be refunded within 24 hours of the customer’s request. Such customer requests should be within 24 hours for VAS with validity of more than one day and within 6 hours for VAS with validity of one day.

The TRAI VAS guidelines also said 24 hours before auto renewals of any VAS, customers should be provided the information through SMS and OBD before 24 hours.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current ye@r *

  • VAS VICTIM December 27, 2013 4:12 pm

    What about the FORCED Activations on VAS on the account of Pre-embedded services in the new Mobile Handsets????

    This is still happening in the market & that too in bulk I suppose!!

    I bought a new handset from Market, it was made in China. As soon as I inserted my SIM Card in to my new Mobile, Rs 3 was deducted was from my Mobile & One VAS Service was activated on my No. after few hours..

    I tried to identify the details from the Customer Service of my Mobile Company. They told me that I have sent one SMS on 58558 & Rs3 are deducted for that. But actually, I hadn’t sent any such message. This seemed very strange to understand that How companies can charge on account of sending a SMS, where as one hasn’t actually done it. It looked like as if it’s some goof up done by Telecom Companies with CHIENESE HANDSET MANUFACTURERS that is generating hell lot of money for them.
    After few hours, the VAS service was activated & I received a message for the money deduction.. IT’S AN ABSOLUTE FRAUD!!

    It’s absolutely a Fraud, that’s VAS Companies are still doing smartly & TRAI/DOT are just unaware of it…

  • Telecom December 27, 2013 4:04 pm

    What about the FORCED Activations on VAS on the account of Pre-embedded services in the new Mobile Handsets????

    This is still happening in the market & that too in bulk I suppose!!

    I bought a new handset from Market, it was made in China. As soon as I inserted my SIM Card in to my new Mobile, Rs 3 was deducted was from my Mobile & One VAS Service was activated on my No. after few hours..

    I tried to identify the details from the Customer Service of my Mobile Company. They told me that I have sent one SMS on 58558 & Rs3 are deducted for that. But actually, I hadn’t sent any such message. This seemed very strange to understand that How companies can charge on account of sending a SMS, where as one hasn’t actually done it. It looked like as if it’s some goof up done by Telecom Companies with CHIENESE HANDSET MANUFACTURERS that is generating hell lot of money for them.
    After few hours, the VAS service was activated & I received a message for the money deduction.. IT’S AN ABSOLUTE FRAUD!!

    It’s absolutely a Fraud, that’s VAS Companies are still doing smartly & TRAI/DOT are just unaware of it…

  • Pratap Bhanja October 15, 2013 6:53 pm

    But, all the telecos have already earned hefty sum of money by backend VAS activation before these strong guidelines for them. They have taken out the cream and now enjoying it. TRAI can not do anything about it.
    The question is why these measures were not there in the beginning? Why TRAI was sleeping on consumers’ complaints since long? It took so many years to decide about the action or rules!

  • sdf October 15, 2013 2:35 pm

    Either that, or complaining is so pointless, that subscribers have stopped bothering.

  • Abhijit October 13, 2013 9:37 am

    This is because operators have stopped registering complaints related to VAS.

  • dskushwaha October 13, 2013 5:33 am

    Operators were cutting the golden goose so far, but now they will find difficult to survive as it was an easy source of looting.

  • Taron mohan October 13, 2013 12:50 am

    So the so called great Indian VAS story was always a bubble all these years. Should not then TRAI get the telcos to credit back the false billing amounts to each of the innocent mobile subscribers and bring a degree of honesty in the billings done so far. It has been a scam of a few million USD’s in the past few years…

    • Pratap Bhanja October 15, 2013 7:00 pm

      Absolutely. All telecos had earned huge sum of money though this illegal means. And they have done it for years, especially when the handset boom took place during 2006-07.
      Take an example:
      Reliance has over 1800000 customer in Odisha (old figure). If they activate any VAS pack of Rs.30/- without the knowledge of the customer, that translates into Rs.54,000,000.00 per month.

  • CHAITANYA October 12, 2013 7:20 pm

    Each company this country deduct your balance without anything,
    Tata is the most problemetic, because they said that u activated from the net and now only u have to stop that we cannot help to stop any way.
    Reliance is one most bad operator because they can activate even your switched off for last 2-3 days, and even at late night when u r at sleep.
    Bsnl is the best about this, U can always recharge a high amount and u r safe.

    • Abijit Dhirdeo October 15, 2013 7:06 pm

      Right. All private operators are thieves, simply speaking. Employees (at management level) are directed or ordered to enhance revenue by any means. So to save their job and please the owner they support these kind of acts. Whereas BSNL, being the government operator, the employees are careless about the revenue. So, customers TT is safe there.

  • Arun Chandran October 12, 2013 4:42 pm

    New Idea 2G products to be launched effective 13th Oct in Kerala .
    Get 60MB at Rs15-2days, 225MB at Rs45-9days, 620MB at Rs124-21days & 1GB at Rs154-30Days.

  • Arun Chandran October 12, 2013 4:41 pm

    New Idea 2G products to be launched effective 13th Oct, Get 60MB at Rs15-2days, 225MB at Rs45-9days, 620MB at Rs124-21days & 1GB at Rs154-30Days.

  • Rama October 12, 2013 4:05 pm

    The major reason for reduce in vas complaints which i believe is the double confirmation rule made mandatory by trai

  • shahid October 12, 2013 2:38 pm

    nothing will stop reliance. reliance is a running a big scam of activating vas nd deducting balance.

  • Anked Paralkar October 12, 2013 1:57 pm

    What is TRAI’s email Id to lodge a complaint?
    TT should take up network related issues, call drop issues, quality of service(QoS) of mobile operators and forward these issues to TRAI.

  • mukul October 12, 2013 12:55 pm

    haha.
    doesnt matter.
    reliance is beyond the rules n law.
    this co always deduct balance
    wnever we call 198.
    1. plz call aftr 4 hours.
    2.sir this is auto renewal service. u activate. we dont know.
    we sent msg..although we nve added vas.

    docomo is also making fool through internet pack.
    so many times docomo deduct my balance even i have data balance.
    they told me sir website contain is so big..even i 5 to 10 mb balance.

    friends i think airtel,.bsnl is best in prepaid.
    they nvr do this.
    bsnl is bst ever. but their cc 1503 is bakwas.

    so im.using postpaid service. i think postpaid service of all co is bst.

  • arshad October 12, 2013 11:51 am

    great now reliance cant deduct any money without any reason.