Airtel, Vodafone and Tata Docomo Tops in Complaints on Billing & Overcharging of Mobile Tariff

India’s leading mobile service provider Bharti airtel, Vodafone, Tata Docomo (Tata Teleservices) and Reliance Communications (Rcom) are once again on top when it comes to their Mobile Service users complaints related to Billing, tariff  issues and activation of chargeable VAS without explicit consent of the customer.

TRAI Got Maximum Complaints Against Airtel, Vodafone and Reliance in 2011-12

According to the information given by Minister of State for Communication and IT. Mr. Milind Deora “During the financial year 2012-13 up to January, 2013, Trai has received 2,419 complaints relating to billing and tariff including complaints relating to overcharging of tariff.”

In last one year telecom regulator TRAI has received the maximum complaints against Bharti Airtel totaled 745, followed by Vodafone India (505), Tata Teleservices / Tata Docomo (345) Reliance Mobile / Rcom (329), Idea Cellular (194), Bharat Sanchar Nigma Ltd (BSNL) (122), MTNL (36) and all others (143).

Update :
However Airtel Spokesperson cited “Every customer complaint is important to us and we do address each of these at a customer and systemic level. However, it needs to be understood that the number of complaints referred here is mere 745 of our active customer base of 195 million. There is, in fact declining trend in number of complaints over the period of time vis-a-vis our growth”.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current day month ye@r *

  • Sherab Bhotia March 14, 2013 5:44 pm

    The way airtel scams money from it’s customer is this way.
    If I call someone I can not complete my sentence in just a single call. it hangs up or can not hear the voice properly. so I have to re dial again after several dialing I can finally finish my one sentence talk. but by the time I finish one sentence call it charges me ten sentence call. U know what I mean. dont act innocence so repent now.

  • abhishek9883255774 March 5, 2013 12:57 pm

    this ones for vodafone

    my no. 9883255774

    i experienced strange issue , the have automatically increased my credit limit from 1000 to 2600 without my confirmation , as complained they told to go vodafone store and write a letter .

    in london i was getting proper Uk vodofone support , i think theres a smell of something fishy going under the name of trai , they trying to misuse indian telecom

  • S Tiwari March 4, 2013 4:59 pm

    Just put your complaint on these websites
    consumercourt.in as it is open forum they take it fast
    @Airtel_Presence
    FB.COM/airtelpresence
    @VodafoneIN
    @ideacellular
    Talking to these only once and try to get complaint no. to refer with while posting your complaint
    You will see different way they talk to you,actually sometimes they call you if problem is solved or not

  • Ganesh March 4, 2013 1:56 pm

    No surprises here. Airtel is without doubt the worst cheater.

  • rahim March 3, 2013 3:27 pm

    i think trai creat some rule for to stop hie diduction payment from are wolet if trai was ignor tottaly from beehalf of customer than dal mai kuch kala hai.

  • rahim March 3, 2013 3:10 pm

    uninor mumbai sai janee kai baad sabhi opperator ko mauka milgaya customer ko lutni ka ham uninor ko bahot mis karrahi hai jo imandari sai customer ko achi service deeti thi goverment ko yee deekha nahi gaya after all sarkar bhi yahi cahati hai ki am insan pareshan rahe

  • Abhi March 3, 2013 12:33 am

    Reliance Tata Docomo Airtel & Sometimes Idea Are Looterzz In Punjab

  • Dukhiatma March 2, 2013 11:38 pm

    airtel Deducted my 30rs balance and it started auto renewable 15rs/1day service ! i did not inserted my sim card for 3 days after that i show deduction detail and customer care guy said you started this service yesterday !
    after disconnecting call from Customer care executive i just rip off my sim card ! :(

    Moral of the story : “AIRTEL SUCKS “

  • Sudar March 2, 2013 9:42 pm

    Airtel No.1 Money Plucking Network, Worst Data Fooling and Worst Data Service network

  • Kaushik March 2, 2013 8:45 pm

    Airtel chrging Re.1 daily rental without any service request by me. Stupid airtel!

  • Dr. Venkat March 2, 2013 7:57 pm

    Airtel subscriber base is large. It might be the reason for more complaints on it. Any way i am the happy customer of birtel and reliance cdma. Once airtel deducted 99 rupees from my account. Later after complaining to trai they refunded the amount. No such unnecessary deductions from reliance cdma. Both are world class networks. Love them.

  • jignesh March 2, 2013 7:56 pm

    telecomtalk.info/airtel-vodafone-tata-docomo-tops-in-complaints-on-billing-overcharging-of-mobile-tariff/104803/

    read the link i posted, it is true, and both airtel and vodafone are same, i had conversation with helpline on vodafone few months for some plans and some plans in corporate feilds, here we regular customers are paying too much according to the bill corporate persons get, wow isnt this interesting, in 199 rs corporate person getting unlimitaed usage of 3g and we have to pay too much for some limmited usage,, few months back vodafone was having 2gb @ 99 but now they dont have, how much pitty for the customers who r not corporate, well what do corporate person give these peoples as they get so much discounts, fre eusage of internet at such low rate., and we use and pay and we r charged more, same on every network, corporate persons getting too much discounts and all, when we ask for some plans they r not in working condition or in few months when these people give ads and in suddenly those plans are not available, for old customers nothing is been offered , wow,and for new customer who buy new sim and all, or some one is new corporate person he is benifited too much , well why did suddenly vodafone discontinued the 2gb @99 plan, what was the matted and now they r charging more,,

    what is the difference between the aam customer and corporate user, is corporate user paying more bill according to the aam user, 199rs free unlimitied and for the non – corporate person heavy charges, and that too for limitied usage, well why is eveyone quite , where are all persons who use prepaid and postpaid and r not corporate users, still scams going on for selling fake corporate plans and all, and demo cards for those person who r not legal to use them , but no operator cars for this thingsm they just want to sell their cards and make name and post every quarter to show how much they are in line up for most customers they have

  • AD March 2, 2013 6:01 pm

    IDEA ??? ???? ?? ????? ??? ???? ?? ??????

  • MITUL BARAD March 2, 2013 6:00 pm

    Plz i have also problem in complaint on tatadocomo billing,plz any one provide me TRAI COMPLAIN PHONE NO.!

    • Sunil Yadav March 2, 2013 10:22 pm

      TRAI 011-23236308, Fax: 011-23213294
      E-mail:daca@trai.gov.in

  • Sunil Yadav March 2, 2013 5:32 pm

    TRAI bhi kam nahi hai koi bhi trai ko phone kare to who kahte hai hame mail karo agar kisi aam aadmi ko mail karna na aaye to who kya kare.

  • Suresh March 2, 2013 5:22 pm

    @ Sanjay Bafna :

    When will the national roaming charges will get withdrawn????

  • Ekant March 2, 2013 3:19 pm

    I activated the plan 152 with combo of 2G and 3G benefits on airtel but only 3G benefit was credited and when I called customer care, everyone was coming up thr own ideas of the plan. After lots of tries, I mailed them with full details and snapshots. They again came up with some stupid(they could have easily pulled that out from system) reply asking date of recharge while it was plan activation and not recharge. I then mailed them everything they might ask for delaying things to which they booked complaint and then 2 days post the date they gave for resolution, I got reply that we tried contacting you but you were not contactable(Lie) and your complaint is resolved. I asked CC, they then agreed that although it is written that benefits(2G Data also) have been credited but we can also not see. They trsnfered call to thr TL who told me that I am sending mail to higher authorities and will revert you in 48Hours which as expected never reverted. Then I left it as is.

  • Sanjib March 2, 2013 2:29 pm

    BSNL is the best..

    • pradeep March 2, 2013 8:55 pm

      who said if u had a issue with bsnl u will have to forget the issue it will never ever resolved
      particularly in case of bsnl cdma..
      non of the bsnl team members have no idea about any in cdma side
      i atlast discarded my bsnl cdma joy plan sim

      • Jay March 2, 2013 11:54 pm

        Yes, BSNL is worse than the private operators. Private operators atleast care acout customer retention, but BSNL cares a damn.. I was activated, some uselesss pack, reducing my balance by 30 Rs… I tried reaching the C.care for almost 10 days, and I used to get awkward replies ( after I mention the prob) like System down, Speak loud & call not clear & my line would be disconnected. Then I decided it was too late and found some to deactivate it, to avoid auto renewal…

    • prikshit March 3, 2013 12:12 pm

      bsnl’s cc is d poorest cc… they dont know new offers and moreover d didnt provide upc code by sms and also by their cc

    • SS March 7, 2013 11:56 am

      Come to UP East Circle, you will understand what BSNL is
      Even though BSNL has very large customer base in UP East but services are worst. BSNL only provides good voice and SMS.
      Very poor internet both 3G and 2G, out of 30 days a month, the server will be down for 20 days and rest of the days, you will face constant disconnections 0KB/ps speed sometimes I even get 500bytes/sec (Wow!).

      I am with Idea now, they are providing very good services in all fields.

      Vodafone- Improve your Internet billing system. you debiting my balance even when data pack was activated (rest things are good)

  • raju March 2, 2013 2:26 pm

    VAS activation thru USSD must be abolished.Sometimes if we type wrong code,vas gets activated.companies will not refund in this case.also ussd codes often keep on changing.

  • Mallik March 2, 2013 2:25 pm

    @TelecomTalk Plz post procedure on complaining to TRAI when the customer care of the operator is no more helpful in resolving the issue. Thank you.

  • raj March 2, 2013 2:20 pm

    include aircel in the list.Lost Rs 200 in last 2 months due to unnecessary VAS activation.Voda also done the same thing 6 months back.I’m going to throw the sims if they happen again.

    • S.Sudhakar March 2, 2013 7:41 pm

      Cool man. Why you have to throw the SIM?. MNP is there. Create a UPC and submit it to other operator and get the dummy SIM first. If the VAS service is still active in the existing operator leave it off. Then it will be a lesson to the existing operator

  • Jay March 2, 2013 1:50 pm

    Recently, my friend recharged for some 3G pack based on the info from airtel website, but it later turned out to be some useless Booster pack, and my friend had unknowingly used 3G internet for some time, ending up loosing 60 Rs !! After many complaints & persistent talking, Airtel refunded the amount in the form of Top up for that Rs (minus tax etc.)… This is not fair right?? He has lost 60 Rs due to wrong info on website.. He said he was tired of the fight he had with Airtel & was not ready for another one by escalating it to TRAI !!!

    Such thing happens in all operators.. I faced a similar experience with Aircel. I recharged for a Rate cutter through USSD menu options, based on the info from website & USSD menu display. The validity was mentioned as 90 days, but I ended up getting just 30 days validity.. When I called the C.care about this, I was bluntly replied that the plan was changed, and they can’t do anything. I said, the website is not updated, so is the USSD menu. At last, I took screen grabs from my mobile (thnx to android) & from the website to Aircel C.Care email Id. They replied, that they have escalated it to the concerned team. The next day, website was updated, followed by the USSD option.. To my surprise, I had got the validity extended as well… Though it was a bad from Aircel’s part of not updating the site & USSD, since they were ready to give back the actual validity, when I recharged, I decided not to escalate..

    • S.Sudhakar March 2, 2013 7:44 pm

      If your number is more than 90 days old, create a UPC and threaten the operator that you will change the operator if they donot give solution. Thats all.

      In Tamilnadu, not even a single call will come from reliance gsm, docomo and idea if you give port out request. They are not even cared about the customers.

      • Jay March 2, 2013 11:50 pm

        I generated UPC for one of the mobiles in my home (Aircel no.) and I did not receive any call. But, my friend generated UPC from Vodafone & got a call with an offer of 30p/min for 90 days. He generated UPC for second time, but didn’t get any call, and he ported out to Aircel..

        But, I think as per TRAI rules, operators must not call & try to convince the customer if the user wishes to Port out..

        • S.Sudhakar March 3, 2013 11:45 am

          Operators should call because atleast then we can hope that problem will be solved. Then also they are not solving the problem and only giving extra benefits. Who knows?. The operator will rob the money for the special benefits from some other subscriber and give it to us. Who wants to get the sin of other subscriber?.

  • Sougata Das March 2, 2013 1:42 pm

    Lets see what gov actually does for this nuisance…

  • Souradip March 2, 2013 12:04 pm

    They dont take complant and dont even replance our money which they have charged on saying they say it that your have actived (indirectly our falt)

  • Souradip March 2, 2013 11:59 am

    The AVoId are big cheat they are lotting our county we should raise our voices

  • VENKAT March 2, 2013 11:57 am

    somany customers dont know how to complain to trai. if they advertise about it for sure the number will be one fourth of their subscriber base.

  • Tamal March 2, 2013 11:32 am

    As expected…….to providing such market dividing awfully competition they offers cheaper than basic requirements (like food for survival)…………but to increase market share and profit they had only two options left 1. employees ko bhukha rakhoo 2. customer ko chupke se lutoo….