Airtel, Loop Mobile and Idea Cellular Summoned on MNP Port-Out Rejection Complaints

MNP-IndiaIndia’s three leading mobile service providers Bharti Airtel, Idea Cellular and Loop Mobile and their top officials were summoned today by a Delhi court for allegedly violating the TRAI regulations on Mobile Number Portability (MNP).

After the lot of complaints of false practice by these leading operators regarding Mobile Number Portability (MNP), Indian telecom watchdog Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) has approached a Delhi Court, with a complaint against mobile operators for rejecting MNP  port out requests from its subscribers and violating the MNP regulations.

The top executives from telecom sector who were issued summonses with a direction to appear before Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Vinod Yadav on May 25 are Airtel’s CEO Sanjay Kapoor, its Director (Legal and Regulatory Affairs) Jyoti Pawar and Vice-President (Head and Regulatory Affairs, Mobile Services) Ashwani Rana.

The executives summoned from the Idea Cellular  included its Managing Director Himanshu Kapania and its Chief Corporate Affairs Officers Rajat Mukarji.

While the Mumbai’s leading operator Loop Mobiles (India) Ltd officials, who have been summoned by the court are its Managing Director Sandip Basu and Chief Regulatory Officer Harish Kapoor.

Earlier the TRAI has filed separate complaints against each mobile service providers and their top officials for allegedly violating its norms by rejecting mobile number portability (MNP) requests of their subscribers in various circles like Mumbai, Maharashtra & Goa, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Chennai, Gujarat and some others.

TRAI also said that it has received lot of complaints whereas the majority of Mobile Number porting requests have been rejected by these mobile service providers on the ground of contractual obligations and outstanding payment dues (less than Rs.10) as the reason, even though the rejection clause in the Mobile Number Portability Regulations doesn’t allow operators to reject port-out requests on these grounds.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current ye@r *

  • Praveen October 14, 2013 1:17 pm

    Hey i am praveen ,i did all the process correctly for the porting (from idea to Aircel) and gave my proof and photo and code to the aircel showroom.after 15 days .while i called to aircel they told idea returned my request because of data mismatch.
    so i called to idea and checked my sim related details (name , address and all) all are correct only that the same proof only i gave to aircel.
    now again aircel asking me to give new port code and the same proof again.

    Because of the inconvenience only we are porting out for this also why you are not allowing us.

  • Suchisuvra Sen January 23, 2013 9:20 pm

    I have submitted all documents to the nearest Reliance Mobile Store for Mobile Number Portability on 8th January 2013. Actually I have been using TATA DOCOMO since 2009 in Kolkata. Now I tried switching to Reliance by keeping my number same. On 17th January TATA DOCOMO switch off my SIM from their service. But Still now Reliance SIM is saying SIM Registration failure. I have sent E-mail to their CC, Appellate and also to the President. But on the behalf of them I got no response and solution. Even I visited their Mobile Store more than 10 times.

  • hitesh September 21, 2012 11:00 pm

    docomo poor in punjab also

  • KishaN September 13, 2012 11:42 am

    Airtel is the best Operator….

    • Ganu January 1, 2014 6:57 pm

      Artel is the Worser than Worst operator

  • R R Kumar April 30, 2012 12:19 am

    reliance cdma and aircel are good…then comes airtel, bsnl and reliance gsm…docomo still has poor network

  • Arul kumar a April 18, 2012 4:40 pm

    Air tel looting money, therefore i am changing operation through mobile portability but air tel rejecting continuously.

    Air tel company is gangstar compnay

  • Shobhit April 1, 2012 2:01 pm

    Airtel is the biggest cheater and a fraud company. They deduct balance and when customer ask for refund, they again activate VAS. I lost Rs.300 due to unwanted service activation. I requested to port out from Airtel to Tata Docomo last month but they rejected my requests and I lost Rs.49 due to all this as I paid the same to Docomo for the SIM.
    The day I generated UPC, I got a call from Airtel CC that why you want to port out? They tried to gave some lucrative offers and freebies but I denied completely and disconnected the call. When I contacted Tata Docomo about this, they said your operator has rejected your request.
    Then contacted Airtel via e-mail, I came to know that they sent me a SMS asking me to stay with Airtel and I gave nod to same by replying Yes.I didn’t got any SMS. When they called I rejected.

    TT please do something. I have reported to matter at pgportal.gov.in

    Airtel, Idea, Vodafone all are fraud. They are money minded. They suck customers money to but companies in other countries….. Sada huya network kutto kaa.

  • Jagan T March 23, 2012 12:39 pm

    Good move TRAI.
    But i doubt that even a authorised body like TRAI who oversee the telecom providers, needs to go to court to implement its own rules on the operators, what about the poor customers?

  • mohamed March 22, 2012 11:46 pm

    my native cuddalore districk lalpet airtel signal is very bad but vodafone is good

  • V.P.Guru March 22, 2012 2:23 pm

    @sunny
    in cuddalore vandipalayam area, airtel is giving 0 signal.

  • VidyutMore March 22, 2012 11:24 am

    It should summons to Vodafone also.Here this operator rejecting MNP request saying Code Miss Match.Thats Not true.they dont want to customer go away,as well they are not is position here to provide good network,I personaly followup for their network in my area but no result.

  • Anked Paralkar March 22, 2012 10:50 am

    How to log a complaint with TRAI….can anyone tell me?
    I do not see any section to log a complaint on TRAI website.

  • Abhijith March 22, 2012 8:35 am

    Where is vodafone ? ? British corporate fraud no.1 had left out from list ? ? ? ?

  • sunny March 22, 2012 8:02 am

    Ashish :

    varun :
    Very bad news, why airtel will reject port-out request, he’s the leader, every1 wanna come to airtel, tell me 1 place where airtel has even less then 50% network? 99% airtel is covered

    huh come in haryana and see airtel 10% n/w at many places

    agree. airtel has sabse ghatiya network in haryana. if their tie-up with idea gets break, no one will go for airtel as i can see people manually selecting idea network for internet because airtel’s network is so worst. people take sim for freebies and throw away after that. in coming days operators will stop giving these freebies and then we will come to know actual customer base. airtel has only 50% active customers and they always inflate data. shameless airtel.

  • sunny March 22, 2012 7:56 am

    i successfully ported out of idea few days back. they rejected my request once but it got successful second time. idea has become greedy these days and their service quality has also become worst. they increased gprs charges and it gone out of my budget. so i decided to port out. my frends also ported out of idea to the cheapest best in haryana i.e videcon mobile service. videocon gives calls to all india at 30p/min and unlimited internet at rs.96 whereas idea gives 1gb only. idea airtel vodafone chor companies.

  • KRISH March 22, 2012 7:37 am

    MNP PORT IN TO BSNL MOBILE.PLS GO TO THIS LINK.
    http://www.bsnl.co.in/mnp_index.htm

  • KRISH March 22, 2012 7:34 am

    BSNL Is Very honest in MNP procedure.PORT IN to BSNL MOBILE. CALL SEND SMS ON 09400012345 IN FOLLOWING FORMAT MNP OR CALL 1503.
    TRUSTED BRAND. WIDE COVERAGE.TRANSPARENT BILLING. ATTRACTIVE TARIFF.

  • h rajpoot March 22, 2012 5:37 am

    when i ported one of my docomo no to airtel…airtel deactivated my docomo sim and also not activated their airtel sim.so my number been closed for 6 days causing me lot of inconvinience.

  • Raghu March 22, 2012 12:28 am

    @Firstonnet
    yes i agree with you. I do not why Vodafone name has been removed. there are lot of complaints with Vodafone too.

  • ganesan March 21, 2012 11:33 pm

    mts india also not allowing to send 1900 sms….have anybody help?

  • Esmail March 21, 2012 11:06 pm

    I had issues porting out of LOOP mobile in Mumbai, even though I was a prepaid mobile subscriber and had positive balance in my account and no value added services or unpaid dues. I received the port out number on sms, but then their executives had called up trying to convince me to stay with their service rather than porting out. When I insisted that I yet want to port out from LOOP they said OK, but ultimately I received an SMS from LOOP saying that my MNP request had been rejected. For no logical reason I had to suffer. I anyway took a new number with Uninor and chucked their sim into the dustbin.

  • Akzey March 21, 2012 10:54 pm

    varun :
    Very bad news, why airtel will reject port-out request, he’s the leader, every1 wanna come to airtel, tell me 1 place where airtel has even less then 50% network? 99% airtel is covered

    Port-out request means the SMS you send to a operator to Port-out your mobile number to another operator and Airtel and some others are not sending a Porting PIN after sending the Port-out request message.

  • sAM March 21, 2012 10:50 pm

    Instead of Loop Mobile it should be Vodafone India.

  • Kanchan March 21, 2012 10:16 pm

    I am also shocked by Vodafone’s exclusion from the list

  • Ashish March 21, 2012 10:08 pm

    varun :
    Very bad news, why airtel will reject port-out request, he’s the leader, every1 wanna come to airtel, tell me 1 place where airtel has even less then 50% network? 99% airtel is covered

    huh come in haryana and see airtel 10% n/w at many places

  • Firstonnet March 21, 2012 10:01 pm

    How they can forgot to Fraud company i.e. Vodafone? Why TRAI dropped his name from the list? Lots of subscribers from said areas (Mumbai, Maharashtra & Goa, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Chennai, Gujarat) are applied for port out but it’s denied by Vodafone.

  • kunal March 21, 2012 10:00 pm

    Haha this had to happen………all the looting companies need to be charged, dont know how vodafone is left out !!!!

  • Anup March 21, 2012 9:45 pm

    Mind port out request was rejected by Airtel 3 months back without any reason. I asked for the reason they said I have accepted their scheme of low calling charges and so I cant port out for 3 months. Airtel is chor company.

  • Steve March 21, 2012 9:42 pm

    Joville :
    i had an issue with airtel, when i tried to port out, i am on a prepaid connection, they dint have any reason to reject my port out request. this was in the state of goa, what they did do is change my plan instead, made my calls cheaper, n now im still on airtel as i dint have the time to follow up….

    the same thing happend to me even they reduced my tariff plan to 1p for 2sec…..but still iam not happy coz they have the pathatic courage here in goa

  • AsitPaul March 21, 2012 9:14 pm

    I will NOT use any AirTel products be it Mobile, DTH or others.

  • Joville March 21, 2012 9:06 pm

    i had an issue with airtel, when i tried to port out, i am on a prepaid connection, they dint have any reason to reject my port out request. this was in the state of goa, what they did do is change my plan instead, made my calls cheaper, n now im still on airtel as i dint have the time to follow up….

  • varun March 21, 2012 8:30 pm

    Very bad news, why airtel will reject port-out request, he’s the leader, every1 wanna come to airtel, tell me 1 place where airtel has even less then 50% network? 99% airtel is covered

    • James January 23, 2014 7:28 pm

      Are you working for airtel ?

  • akhilesh March 21, 2012 8:21 pm

    none is honest here in india
    this is true for every mobile oprator’s .

    its my persnal experience.