Aircel 3G Review – Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad)

Aircel 3G Review Andhra Pradesh HyderabadAs already shared on TT, AIRCEL has launched 3G services across the country with just Punjab and West Bengal circles remaining to experience the high-speed data services.

With the Hyderabad launch covered on TT (AIRCEL 3G Mobile Services Now in Hyderabad) we put the services to the test.

Aircel’s 3G FREE Trial offer includes:

- 250 MB Free data usage

- 50 Minutes Free Video calling

ACTIVATION PROCEDURE: While the company states one has to send just a single SMS to 121, doing so resulted in several messages being received (below). Same was quite confusing as one would need to ignore the 2G setting-related messages and attend to the 3G messages only. Additionally both the SMS and call centre informs the “Activation Time” as 2 hours – whereas in reality the activation happened in under 10 minutes.

05-03-2011 20:07Dear Subscriber, Kindly save the settings sent to you to start using Pocket Internet, Aircel-MMS & Aircel-GPRS. Explore the unlimited possibilities of the Internet on your Aircel phone.

05-03-2011 20:09Dear Subscriber, Pocket Internet, Aircel-MMS & Aircel-GPRS settings have been delivered to you. Visit http://www.pocketinternet.in/myaircel Explore your world of possibilities with My Aircel

05-03-2011 20:23Dear Subscriber, your request has been successfully processed. You will receive a status message from Aircel shortly.

05-03-2011 20:23 Dear Subscriber. Thank You For Choosing Aircel 3G Services. Your Services Will Be Activated In 02 Hrs.

05-03-2011 20:23Dear Subscriber, Aircel 3G services have been activated. To assist you, our Customer Support Representative will call you in between 08 AM to 08 PM. For further information visit www.aircel.com or call customer care at 121. To deactivate 3G, SMS STOP 3G to 121.

05-03-2011 20:40Dear Customer, Your SR 1-3954xxxxxx has been successfully registered and will be resolved by 8/3/2011. To know more about Self Service options sms HELP to 121

Well now that we have done with the settings part of the review, let’s get into the main 3G experience.

BROWSING SPEED: While checking browsing speeds, one needs to keep in mind the following:

*Capacity of Handset used – Nokia C6-01 (supports speeds upto 10.2MBPS)

*Signal Strength of BTS (Tower) logged into

*Simultaneous Users (both Voice& Data) in the BTS (Tower) logged into

*Website being accessed – mobilespeedtest.net

Having clarified the above, the Aircel speeds clocked were 1478 Kbps, quite impressive for peak hour traffic (Testing done between 20:46 – 21:12 hrs on Friday).


DATA TRANSFERRED: While browsing speeds can vary by the second, the actual data transferred from 20:46 – 21:36 was 223MB – an average of 4.475 MB per minute. Files downloaded were of 97.9 MB and 97.5 MB respectively.

VIDEO CALLS : While the video call was in progress, several distortions of the received image (ie Person called) were noticed, with high amounts of pixellation on the screen. Voice quality on the video call was poor too, with lag (delay) of 2-3 seconds from the time the person had spoken. Test Video call was made from AIRCEL to TATA DOCOMO network, which is a plus point, keeping in mind all operators are not offering inter-network Video calling.

CONCLUSION: With a browsing speed of 1478Kbps with few users there could be further deterioration in speeds as the number of simultaneous users increases. Also the poor image and voice quality of Video Call needs to be looked into by AIRCEL technical team as this feature would remain once of the highlights of the 3G service.

Overall rating: 2/5.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current day month ye@r *

  • gangadhar May 2, 2014 5:16 pm

    I have send message to start 3g on my phone but it is not activated and the customer care people are not responding to my call so it is worst

  • Ranjith December 22, 2012 4:06 pm

    I heard from 1 month aircel network will be band.

  • Nikhil December 4, 2012 10:54 pm

    Hoo i have perchased a aircel sim in hyderabad before one week but it is still not activated What a frook

  • mpa October 5, 2012 5:35 pm

    how to deactivate aircel 3g

  • MOHAN May 29, 2012 3:40 pm

    aircel will be the one of wrost network in ap….as compare to other networks,,because there is since 3g network in some places………….please improve ur network

  • Raghu October 27, 2011 5:40 pm

    @Lavanya
    i agree that Aircel has bad network in AP. if u are not happy just Port out of Aircel.

  • Raghu October 27, 2011 5:40 pm

    @Arjun Chandrashekar
    if Aircel is bad do not say all mobile networks are worst here.

  • Raghu October 27, 2011 5:38 pm

    @Arjun Chandrashekar
    U are wrong on what u said abt AP state. please do not comment foolishly . In our state we experience good services from most of the operators.in Karnataka i have seen personally we will not experience good service from All Operators at all places.

  • Arjun Chandrashekar October 27, 2011 3:14 pm

    @Lavanya
    In Your State All Mobile Networks are Worst. Whereas Come To Karnataka Where You Will Experience A Good Service From All Operators

  • Lavanya October 27, 2011 2:29 pm

    THE AIRCEL IS THE WORST AND WORST NETWORK WHICH CAME INTO THE PRESENT WORLD ITS NOT HAVING ANY SPACE TO BE EXISTED ON THIS EARTH…. MIGHT BE IF I SUGGEST THEN I THINK DRAINAGE IS THE BEST AND EVER NICE PLACE TO ENJOY THOSE AIRCEL IDIOTS……

    UNKNOWINGLY THEY ARE DEDUCTING EVERYBODIES MONEY… PLEASE GUYS TAKE CARE AND NEVER EVER OPT FOR THIS STUPID AND IDIOTIC AIRCEL……

  • mary June 23, 2011 11:48 pm

    hows aircel 3g speed

  • Nikhat Fatima April 16, 2011 1:45 pm

    I my Aircel has rate cutter as 50p/sec to whicc i have activated it as 1p/sec but it is not getting activated and now i am charge the usual 50p/sec even my number got activated for a ringtone which i havent subscribe but had 2 pay Rs.60 per month

  • Sreenivas March 11, 2011 12:22 pm

    We have applied for Aircel 3G connection on 8th March, but not activated as on 11th March, till 12.21 PM. Customer Care said it will be activated in 4 hours yesterday evening. Today morning when I enquired, still the same thing is repeated. I dont know how much time they will take to activate.

  • alok basu March 8, 2011 3:32 pm

    Aircel 3G is the best. Amazing speed

  • pawan March 8, 2011 10:02 am

    3g ki settings kya hai bhai

  • Saurav March 8, 2011 7:35 am

    start 3g which date at west bengal?

  • Dipankar March 8, 2011 12:41 am

    West bengal me kab calu hoga? 2G me jo kamjor network stranth hain o 3G me kya karega.

  • vikas619 March 7, 2011 10:51 pm

    waiting for Aircel to launch 3g in Ludhiana(Punjab)..
    hopeing it will be very sooooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnn

  • amarjeet March 7, 2011 10:46 pm

    @Santu Sovan Mandal
    I live near airport. You can activate this pack directly from your main balance.no need to go to retailer.
    Please call cc to know how to activate this pack directly from main balance.
    *123*051#, this code is for 51 net pack. I hope that for 99 pack it must be *123*099#. Both packs are autorenewal.

  • Rahul March 7, 2011 8:11 pm

    Ekdum bakwas 3g . No activation in kolkata circle

  • altaf March 7, 2011 8:01 pm

    Santu Sovan Mandal :
    @amarjeet
    But I have tried to activate 99 retailer pack but I was unable as retailer failed to recharge. I’m at barasat. Where do you live?

    Maintain a balance of minimum 100 rs. then activate it via *123*099# or via web.. as simple as that :D

  • Santu Sovan Mandal March 7, 2011 7:10 pm

    @amarjeet
    But I have tried to activate 99 retailer pack but I was unable as retailer failed to recharge. I’m at barasat. Where do you live?

  • amarjeet March 7, 2011 5:26 pm

    @Pajat
    I am using 99 pack of 2G in UMTS MODE Giving 3GB data download.
    Mobile tv is not minute based service but it is daily or monthly payment service.
    I am getting mobile tv for free ,downloaded this app free from r world.
    Mobile tv is giving good streaming excluding sports channel.
    World cup at 25 match day and 150 for all match.
    Mobile’s battery will not last more than 3 hours if u continue use this service for 2-3 hours.

  • Pajat March 7, 2011 5:07 pm

    @amarjeet

    I mean, how many minutes of free mobile TV can your data plan provide?

  • Pajat March 7, 2011 5:06 pm

    @amarjeet

    Which data plan do you have?
    how much does that cost?
    how many minutes of TV can that support?
    Are you getting decent TV performance while on the move in a train/bus/car?

  • sam from kashmir March 7, 2011 4:44 pm

    i m useing Reliance 3G with free mobile tv in jk launch offer. I talk my cousin in haryana on vedio call its good no break good quality. And 3g speed is very good 5 to 6 mbps on my laptop. If u check ur 3g speed go on www bandwidthplace. com and check ur speed.
    Thanks.

  • amarjeet March 7, 2011 4:28 pm

    @Vivekanand
    No, data downloading charge is free as i have activated their data plan.
    Also giving speed of 2-2.5mbps speed with my nokia 5800 phone.
    Speed is not constant but in comparison to reliace netconnect, reliance 3G is far better.
    In my area reliance netconnect gives speed of 1-1.5mbps.

  • Pinaki Roy March 7, 2011 3:39 pm

    But Reliance mobile tv is not supported by all 3G handsets.

  • rajiev March 7, 2011 3:35 pm

    mobile tv , every operators same streaming

  • Vivekanand March 7, 2011 3:29 pm

    @amarjeet
    Aren’t you charged for the data downloaded for watching TV on Reliance mobile?

  • amarjeet March 7, 2011 3:15 pm

    @Pinaki Roy
    Reliance mobile tv is very good. I am using it for free.
    Sometimes donot connect but it is good

  • Pinaki Roy March 7, 2011 2:58 pm

    Quality mobile tv service supported by all 3G handsets can make 3G popular.